This is the "Home" page of the "Restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence. " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence.   Tags: special collections  

This collection is the files of Special Reporter & Consultant Alan Hornstein, reflecting the review process and decision making of the Committee in restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/restructured_md_rules_evidence Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: 410-706-6502
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

Under Article IV § 18(a) of the Maryland Constitution, the Court of Appeals is empowered to regulate the practice and procedure in, and the judicial administration of, the courts of this State; and under Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article § 13-301, the Court of Appeals may appoint a standing committee of lawyers, judges, and other persons competent in judicial practice, procedure, or administration to assist the Court in the exercise of its rulemaking power. The Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure, often referred to simply as the Rules Committee, was appointed originally in 1946 to succeed an ad hoc Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure created in 1940. Its members meet regularly to consider proposed amendments and additions to the Maryland Rules of Procedure and to submit recommendations for change to the Court of Appeals.

Professor Alan Hornstein was appointed to the Committee as Special Reporter and Consultant in 1989. The collection consists of seven loose-leaf binders covering 1977, 1989-1993, and reflects the review process and decision making of the Committee in restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence.  Professor Hornstein donated the collection to the Thurgood Marshall Law Library in 2004. Processing was completed in the fall of 2006. .  Material is arranged and labeled in the original binder order. 

Access to the collection is by appointment only, please contact Special Collections to view the collection or for more information.  Attorney/Client privilege does not apply.  Photocopying of non-fragile material is available, contact Special Collections.  Permission to reproduce or quote from the collection generally in published research in any format may be requested in writing from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland School of Law, Special Collections, 501 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

Title list:

Binder 1: Evidence Rules Minutes    Binder 2: 1977  
Binder 3: 1989, June – December  Binder 4: 1990, August – October 
Binder 5:  1991, April – December Binder 6: 1992
Binder 7: 1993

Cite as: Maryland Court of Appeals, Standing Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure: Files of Committee Special Reporter Alan Hornstein [binder year and page]. Thurgood Marshall Law Library, The University of Maryland School of Law.

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip