This is the "Home" page of the "Papers of Professor Hungdah Chiu - 1970s-1990s" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Papers of Professor Hungdah Chiu - 1970s-1990s   Tags: special collections  

An inventory and guide to the research materials of Professor Chiu in the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/hungdah_chiu Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: 410-706-6502
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

Professor Chiu, taught at National Taiwan University and at National Chengchi University in the Republic of China, and was a research associate at Harvard Law School for six years. He wrote edited and is co-author of many books in English and in Chinese and more than 130 articles in the field of international and comparative law and Chinese studies, including The Future of Hong Kong (with Y. C. Jao and Y. L. Wu, 1987) and The Draft Basic Law of Hong Kong: Analysis and Documents (1988); International Law of the Sea: Cases, Documents and Readings (with Gary Knight, 1991) and Modern International Law (in Chinese, 1995, two volumes). Professor Chiu served as President of the Association of Chinese Social Scientists in North America (1984 through 1986), President of the American Association for Chinese Studies (1985 through 1987) and Minister without portfolio (Minister of State) of the Executive Yuan (cabinet) of the Republic of China (1993 through 1994). He was the past President of the International Law Association.

Professor Chiu and the East Asian Legal Studies Program donated the collection to the Thurgood Marshall Law Library in 2008. Processing began in April of 2008 and was completed in March 2009.  The collection consists of four boxes and multiple binders arranged in two series: Series 1: Research Materials and Publications and  Series 2: Newspaper and Magazine Clippings.

Access to the collection is by appointment only, please contact Special Collections in the Law Library for more information or to make an appointment.

Attorney/Client Privilege does not apply.

Restrictions: Per the donor the materials in box 3 are restricted. Researchers should request access by mail, describing their research project/goals and affiliations. The request will be reviewed by staff of the East Asian Legal Studies program.

Photocopies/scanning: Photocopying of non-fragile material is available. Tax documents and individual financial statements may not be photocopied.

Permissions: Permission to reproduce or quote from the collection generally in published research in any format may be requested in writing from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland School of Law, Special Collections, 501 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

Cite as: The Papers of Professor Hungdah Chiu. Thurgood Marshall Law Library, the University of Maryland School of Law.

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip