This is the "Home" page of the "Crafting Victories: Campaign Materials from the Larry Gibson Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Crafting Victories: Campaign Materials from the Larry Gibson Collection   Tags: special collections  

A guide to resources and materials dealing with Maryland politics with a particular focus on the changing role and influence of local African American political leadership.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/crafting_victories Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: 410-706-6502
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

Professor Larry S. Gibson has played a leadership role in the campaigns of many Maryland and national politicians beginning with his first effort organizing the campaign of Joseph Howard for Judge on the Supreme Bench of Baltimore City in 1968. Success in the Howard campaign was followed by work on the local campaigns of Milton Allen, William H. Murphy, Paul Chester, Wayne Curry and Kurt Schmoke. At the national level he has worked on the presidential campaigns of George McGovern, Jimmy Carter and Bill Clinton. Internationally, Gibson's organizational talents have been employed by candidates as far away as Liberia and Madagascar.

In 2004, the Thurgood Marshall Law Library began working with Professor Larry Gibson to acquire his personal collection of campaign and legal materials. Although processing is still underway for much of the collection a sampling of materials have been made available here for scholars interested in the changing role and influence of local African American political leadership. Project staff included Kevin Docherty, Bill Sleeman, Jenny Rensler,Teresa Pucciarella, Will Siegel and Arthur Cook.

Collection Arrangement: Original materials are arranged by binder and year using a system employed by the donor.

Access: Because much of the collection remains closed, access to the full collection is by appointment only.  For more information or to make an appointment, please contact Special Collections in the Library.

Attorney/Client privilege: Materials included on this web site are not protected by the Attorney/Client privilege.

Copies: Photocopying of non-fragile material is available. Tax documents, voting records, voter lists, polling data and legal case files and individual financial statements may not be photocopied.

Reproduction: Permission to reproduce or quote from the collection generally in published research in any format may be requested in writing from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland School of Law, Special Collections, 501 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

Cite as: Crafting Victories: Campaign Materials from the Larry Gibson Collection. African Americans in the Law Special Collections. Thurgood Marshall Law Library, the University of Maryland School of Law.

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip