Primary LegislationSecondary Legislation
This is the "EU Legislation" page of the "European Union Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

European Union Law  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

EU Legislation Print Page

EU Legislation

The Eu Legislation tab contains the following:

Primary Legislation

Secondary Legislation


EU Legislation

There are three principal bodies responsible for enacting and amending legislation in the European Union:

  1. European Commission - The Commission can be considered the Executive Branch of the European Union.  It proposes new legislation and submits these recommendations to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union for further action. The Commission also enforces the law in conjunction with the Court of Justice. The Commission consists of 27 members - one for each member country
  2. European Parliament - Parliament adopts and amends laws together with the Council of the EU.  The European Parliament is also responsible for negotiating international agreements and deals with the question of enlargements. Its members are elected by the citizens of member countries.
  3. Council of the European Union - The Council - along with the Parliament - is the main decision making body of the European Union.  It  works with the Parliament to enact and amend legislation.  The members of the EU Council have the authority to act for their governments during meetings of the group.



Loading  Loading...