Most of the Law Library's electronic resources, including online journals, article databases, and e-books, are available from links on the library website. If you are off-campus, click here for instructions on accessing this material.
Databases offer a wide range of information. They can cover broad topics such as the European Union or they can focus on a narrow aspect of European Union Law such as the regulations.
Listed below are some of databases that might be of help to you when you research the European Union. The Library subscribes to all of them. Access these databases from the Library Web Page. You will be asked for your UMid and password, and once you sign in, you can search from on or off campus access points. As a matter of strategy, always start your search with the advanced designation. An Advanced Search gives you more search boxes and filtering capabilities. You can then create a more sophisticated focus for your search strategy. Be sure to look at the search terms your database of choice allows. Not all databases use the same terms.
- Academic Search Complete - Indexes and abstracts over 4,500 journals including access to the full-text of over more than 3,600 journals. 1965 - date.
- CIAO - Includes text of working papers, policy briefs, case studies, book chapters and journal articles in the field of international law. 1991- date
- Europa - The official web page of the European Union. Click the EU Law tab on the page. This will lead you to the legislation, regulations and case-law documents of the EU .
- Foreign Law Guide An excellent source for finding official versions of foreign law. The online resources in a country section include active URLs to texts of legislation and cases.
- HeinOnline - Full-text in PDF format of over 1500 legal journals. There is also access to the U.S. Supreme Court Reports, United States Code, CFR, and the Federal Register.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals - Indexes law-related articles and book reviews in over 560 foreign law journals. 1985 - date
- Index to Legal Periodicals - Indexes over 800 law reviews and related law books. Includes some full-text availability. 1983 - date. There is also a retrospective database - Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981.
- Lexis - European Union materials can be found under the International tab at the top of the page. Search International>View All Countries>European Union. Information on statutes and cases is available. Check the Source Descriptions for dates of coverage.
- Westlaw - This database contains cases, legislation, regulations, treatises and law reviews. From the main page, access the following: International Materials>Jurisdictions>EU. Check the Scope Note for Coverage
= TMLL Restricted Access