ArticlesBooks
This is the "Books" page of the "Counseling and Negotiation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Counseling and Negotiation   Tags: course page  

Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/content.php?pid=673398 Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Secondary Sources

 

Google Books

Search with the terms  divorce, domestic relations, or divorce mediation  to find Google books on this subject. Then narrow your search by state.



Books

Books can also help you start your research.  They can be narrowly focused or they can show an overall picture of a general topic.  Many of these titles also contain the text of basic legislation. Search the Discovery Service on the TMLL web page in order to find books on Counseling and Negotiation.  Unless you are searching for a specific title, search by subject.  divorce, domestic relations and divorce mediation are good examples of subjects.  Use the advanced search link on the right side of the Discovery section to start a search.  Listed below are some titles that can help you:

  • Dividing Pensions in Divorce. Gary A. Shulman, David I. Kelley [and] Daniel E. Kelley. 3d ed. Austin: Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, 2010.[ KF535.7.S578 2010]
  • Domestic Law in Maryland, David Diggs, Paul A. Dorf and Ferrier Stillman. Eau Claire, WI: National Business Institute, 2000. [KFM1294.5.D54 2000]
  • Essential Lawyering Skills: Interviewing, Counseling, Negotiation and Persuasive Fact Analysis, Stefan H. Krieger and Richard K. Neumann. 5th ed. New York: Wolters Kluwer,  2015. [Reading Room KF300.E88 2015]
  • Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In, 3d ed. Robger Fisher and William Ury; with Bruce Patton, editor. New York:  Penguin, 2011 [Reading Room BF637.N4 F57 2011]
  • Marital Property Workshop. [Faculty includes Michael G. Hendler...et al.] Baltimore: MICPEL, 2008 [KFM1297.Z9M38 2008]
  • Marital Settlement Agreement - Form. Thomas C. Ries [and] Richard B. Jacobs. Baltimore: MICPEL, 2009 [KFM1300.A65M37 2009]
  • Maryland Divorce and Separation Law, edited by Daniel F. Thomas. 9th ed. Baltimore: MICPEL, 2009. [ Maryland Reference KFM1300.M37]
  • Maryland Domestic Relations Forms with Practice Commentary, Ann M.Turnbull and Joseph J. Wass. Newark, NJ: Lexis-Nexis, 1979 -  [Maryland Reference KFM1294.5.A65T8] SEE FORM 1.12
  • Maryland Family and Juvenile Law Practice Manual and Forms, Natalie H. Rees. Brooklandville, MD: Data Trace Pub. Co., 2003.                       [Maryland Reference KFM 1294.R44] See Chapter 3.
  • Maryland Family Law. Cynthia Callahan and Thomas C. Ries, 6th ed. New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis,  2016. [Maryland Reference KFM1294.C35 2016]
  • Maryland Practice Forms, LaKeica R. Allen, Young Lawyers Section, Maryland State Bar Association. 6th ed., Baltimore: MICPEL [KFM1738.A65M34]
  • A Practice Guide to Family Law  (MSBA), Constance K. Putzel [and] Shelley L. Rothschild. [Maryland]:  Maryland State Bar Association, 2014. (electronic resource:  EBook)
  • Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer.  4th ed. Baltimore: MICPEL, 2012 -  [KFM1268.P73 2012] Loose-leaf. Vol. 2 contains Family Law Information 
  • Tax aspects of Marital Dissolution. Leon Gabinet. 2nd ed., rev.St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, 2005. [KF6333.W74 2005] Contains recent supplements

Please note:  LexisAdvance and WestlawNext both contain links to MICPEL treatises.  To find LEXIS titles: Browse>jurisdiction>Maryland>sources>Treatieses> Criminal Law & Procedure>MSA. Westlaw also offers access to practice oriented titles.    

= TMLL Restricted Access

 

Brief Bibliography

Dividing pensions in divorce. Gary A. Shulman, David I. Kelley [and] Daniel E. Kelley. 3d ed. Austin: Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, 2010.[ KF535.7.S578 2010]


Domestic Law in Maryland, David Diggs, Paul A. Dorf and Ferrier Stillman. Eau Claire, WI: National Business Institute, 2000. [KFM1294.5.D54 2000]


Essential Lawyering Skills: Interviewing, Counseling, Negotiation and Persuasive Fact Analysis, Stefan H. Krieger and Neumann. 4th ed. New York: Aspen Pub. Co., 2011. [Reading Room KF300.E84 2011]


Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In, 2nd ed. Robger Fisher and William Ury; with Bruce Patton, editor. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1991 [BF637.N4 F535 1991]


Marital property workshop. [Faculty includes Michael G. Hendler...et al.] Baltimore: MICPEL, 2008 [KFM1297.Z9M38 2008]


Marital settlement agreement - form. Thomas C. Ries [and] Richard B. Jacobs. Baltimore: MICPEL [KFM1300.A65M37]


Maryland Divorce and Separation Law, edited by Daniel F. Thomas. 9th ed. Baltimore: MICPEL. [ KFM1300.M37]


Maryland Domestic Relations Forms with Practice Commentary, Ann M.Turnbull and Joseph J. Wass. Newark, NJ: Lexis-Nexis [KFM1294.5.A65T8] SEE FORM 1.12


Maryland Family and Juvenile Law Practice Manual and Forms, Natalie H. Rees. Brooklandville, MD: Data Trace Pub. Co. [KFM 1294.R44] See Chapter 3.


Maryland Family Law. Cynthia Callahan and Thomas C. Ries, 5th ed. New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis [KFM1294.C35]


Maryland Practice Forms, LaKeica R. Allen, Young Lawyers Section, Maryland State Bar Association. 6th ed., Baltimore: MICPEL [KFM1738.A65M34]


Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer. 3d ed. Baltimore: MICPEL, 1993- [KFM1281.M3 1993] Loose-leaf. Vol. 2 contains Family Law Information 

Tax aspects of marital dissolution. Leon Gabinet. 2nd ed., rev.St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, 2005. [KF6333.W74 2005] Contains recent supplements

 

About the Catalogs at the Library

The default catalog is "Discovery Service at UM Carey Law," a one-stop method of providing access to a wide variety of library resources including books, eBooks, eJournals, EBSCOhost and other databases all in one Google-like search box.  Discovery Service complements other catalogs and research databases, including WorldCat, which allows you to search the collections of libraries worldwide, and the Law Library's Classic Catalog. All of these catalogs provide access to the holdings the Thurgood Marshall Law Library as well as that of the various libraries within the University System of Maryland.  Records in the catalog provide a full description of each item, along with its subject headings, call numbers, library locations, and circulation status. The Catalog also contains current periodical receipt records and indicates which materials are on order for the library.

Use these links to learn how and when to search each catalog:
Discovery Service           World Cat           Classic Catalog            Boolean Search Tips              Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip