ArticlesBooks
This is the "Articles" page of the "Counseling and Negotiation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Counseling and Negotiation   Tags: course page  

Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/content.php?pid=673398 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Secondary Sources

Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains links to scholarly articles, theses and books in many  disciplines.  Full text is also available for many of the links.



Finding articles

Journal articles are an excellent way to start your research.  They are narrow in focus and they contain references to other sources – both secondary and primary.  Unless you have a citation to a particular article, it’s best to start with an index.

The primary indexes to law journal articles are HeinOnline, LegalTrac, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and the Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981. These indexes include references to many journals not included in the WestlawNext, LexisAdvance and BloombergLaw databases.  In some cases electronic access to the full text is also provided.  Heinonline is good source for PDF format/full text articles.  Over 1500 journals have been scanned and posted – coverage usually starts with Volume One.  

Most print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by journal title on Level 1 of the library.  The library also has electronic access to a large number of journals via various subscription databases.  While most general law reviews publish articles on copyright law, there are a number that focus specifically on this topic.  Listed below is a selection of these titles that you can access at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.  To find out if the library has access to a particular journal, use the search titles link on the TMLL web page. Or contact the liaison for this course.

While most general law reviews publish articles on Counseling & Negotiation, there are a number that focus specifically on the topic :

Note: MICPEL publications are now being published by the Maryland State Bar Association (MSBA). They are also available on Lexis and Westlaw. Search via the jurisdiction link and select Maryland.

 

Articles That Might Help Your Research:

  • Confidentiality Clause in Separation Agreement Enforceable, 23 American Journal of Family Law 242-3 (March 2010)
  • Court-Connected Mediation and Minorities: A Report Card, Sharon Press. 39 Capital University Law Review 819-851 (2011)
  • Divorce Mediation for Women:  An Examination of Feminist Critiques, Rose Mirzaie. 71 (3) Dispute Resolution Journal 161-170
    (2016)
  • Divorce Mediation: The Importance of Client Preparation, Justin L. Terch. 69(2) Bench & Bar of Minnesota 20-21 (Feb. 2012)
  • Divorce Property Division Laws and the Decision to Marry or Cohabit, H. Fisher. 28 Journal of Law, Economics & Organization 734-753 (2012)
  • Do Foreclosure Mediation Programs Help Homeowners Prevent Loss of Their Homes? 65 (1) Dispute Resolution Journal 10-11 (Feb./Apr. 2010
  • How do Mediators Decide What to Do?  Implicit Schemas of Practice and Mediator Decisionmaking, Kenneth Kressel. 28 (3) Ohio
    State Journal on DIspute Resolution 709-735 (2013)
  • Lovers' Contracts in the Courts: Forsaking the Minimum Decencies, J.T. Younger. 13 William and Mary Journal of Women and the Law 349-428 (2007)
  • Marital Settlement Agreements--The Key to Life After Divorce, R.A. Rubino. 279 New Jersey Lawyer 46-49 (Dec. 2012)
  • Mediation of Same Sex Issues:  A Brave New World, Or Not?  Ceecee Paizs.  46 (5) Maryland Bar Journal 32-37  (2013)
    Mutual Mistake as Grounds for Setting Aside a Property Settlement Agreement, N. Vitek. 27 American Journal of Family Law 40-44 (2013)
  • Representing Your Client During the DIvorce Mediation Process, Anju D. Jessani.  24 (4) American Journal of Family Law 189-193
    (2010)
  • Stumbling Down the Courthouse Steps: Mediators' Perceptions of the Stumbling Blocks to Successful Mandated Mediation in Child Custody and Visitation, Sandra J. Perry [and others]. 11 Pepperdine Dispute Resolution Law Journal 441-465 (2011)
  • Trials, Verdicts and Mediation in Maryland's U.S. District Court, Heather R. Pruger and Susan K. Gauvey. 43 (4) Maryland Bar Journal 52-55 (July/Aug. 2010)
  • Why ADR Works, L.S. Ostovitz. 45 Maryland Bar Journal 48-53 (Mar/April 2012)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip