Related Research Sources
Maryland Case Law - Chapter 9 of the Maryland Research Guide
Case law dealing with the subject of Legal Ethics is binding on the jurisdiction in which the decision is rendered. There are a number of places to find the decisions of the courts. The Thurgood Marshall Law Library has both paper and electronic access to these sources.
Federal Court Reporters (Paper) - Located on Level 3 of the Library
- United States Reports [KF101.U5]
- Supreme Court Reporter [KF101.U54]
- United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Ed. [KF101.L2]
- Federal Reporter (1st - 3rd ser.) [KF105.F42]
- Federal Supplement (1st - 2nd ser.) [KF105.F44]
Maryland State Court Reports (Paper) - Maryland reports are located on Level 2 of the Library; the Atlantic Reporter is shelved on Level 3
- Maryland Reports [KFM1245]
- Maryland Appellate Reports [KFM1248] - 1968-
- Atlantic Reporter (1st -3d ser.) – [KF135.A71 Ser. #]
- Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII) – Offers access to both state and federal decisions.
- Google Scholar - Search by the name of the case or the citation. Coverage includes both state and federal cases.
- HeinOnline - Search the U.S. Supreme Court Library. Coverage begins with volume 1.
- Justia - Includes decisions from all state and federal courts.
- Maryland Courts - Appellate Court Opinions - (1995 - present)
BloombergLaw, LexisAdvance, and WestlawNext all have extensive coverage of state and federal decisions.
= TMLL Restricted Access
Ethics opinions interpreting questions raised by attorneys are issued by the American Bar Association (ABA) and state bar associations. There are two types of opinions—formal and informal. Formal Opinions define broad general questions on the Canons of Professional Responsibility. Informal Opinions cover questions that are narrow in scope. These opinions are persuasive, but they can be cited in legal writings. Ethics opinions can be found both in paper and electronic format.
National Coverage (Paper)
- National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility (1982- present) The Library has holdings until 2010. [KF308.A6.N38]
- Recent Ethics Opinions, ABA. Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility (1969-2009) [KF305.A16A5b]
- Formal and Informal Ethics Opinions, 1983-1998, ABA. Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility [KF305.A44 2000]
- Formal and Informal Ethics Opinions: Informal Opinions 316-348, Informal Opinions 1285-1495 (1967-1982) [KF305.A16 A5a]
- Informal Ethics Opinions, ABA. Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility (1961-1973) [KF305.A16 A5 1975]
- Opinions of the Committee Ethics, ABA. Committee on Professional Ethics and Grievances (1924-1965) [KF305.A16 A5c 1967]
- Digest of Bar Association Ethics Opinions, Olavi Maru (1924 - 1980) [KF305.A2 M3 1970] This set consists of the main volume and 1975 and 1980 supplements. Includes information on ABA Formal Opinions and State Bar Association opinions. The 1980 Supplement contains a cumulative index. Coverage for State Ethics Opinions varies. Maryland State Bar Association opinions begin with 1939 but coverage is selective.
Maryland Coverage (Paper)
- Opinions on Ethics and Professional Responsibility, Maryland State Bar Association. Committee on Ethics (1978- present) [KFM1276.5.A2 M3]
- BloombergLaw – The ABA Lawyers’ Manual on Professional Conduct is available on this database. The Manual includes ABA Formal and Informal Opinions. Access this title from the main page: Secondary Sources>BNA Manuals>Lawyers Manual on Professional Conduct.
- Lexis – ABA Formal Ethics Opinions (Jan. 1924 – present) and Informal Ethics Opinions (Dec. 1959 – present) are available on Lexis: Practice Area or Industry>Legal Ethics.
- Westlaw – Go to the All Contents tab and type ABA into the search box at the top of the screen. A drop-down page will appear with ABA EthicsMaterials listed. Click that link to access ABA ethics materials. Both the Formal (Jan. 1924- present) and Informal (July 1961 – present) Ethics Opinions are available.
- Maryland State Bar Association – Maryland State Bar Association Ethics Opinions are available to members only on the MSBA web page.
= TMLL Restricted Access