Most of the Law Library's electronic resources, including online journals, article databases, and e-books, are available from links on the library website. If you are off-campus, click here for instructions on accessing this material.
Databases offer a wide range of information. They can cover broad topics such as Lawyers or they can focus on a narrow aspect of this subject area such as legal ethics.
Listed below are some of databases that might be of help to you when you research Legal Profession. The Library subscribes to all of them. Access these databases from the Library Web Page. You will be asked for your UMid and once you sign in, you can search from on or off campus access points. As a matter of strategy, always start your search with the advanced designation. An Advanced Search gives you more search boxes and filtering capabilities. You can then create a more sophisticated focus for your search strategy. Be sure to look at the search terms your database of choice allows. Not all databases use the same terms.
- Academic Search Premier - Indexes and abstracts over 4,500 journals including access to the full-text of over more than 3,600 journals.
- Business Source Premier - Indexes journals in the area of business information.
- HeinOnline - Full-text in PDF format of over 1400 legal journals. There is also access to the U.S. Supreme Court Reports, United States Code, CFR, and the Federal Register.
- Index to Legal Periodicals - Provides citations and some full-text fo law review articles. Coverage begins in 1983 and continues to the present.
- JStor - Indexes and proovides full-text to articles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences
- LegalTrac - Indexes over 1400 legal titles. Indexing begins in 1980 and provision of full-text starts in 1990.
- Proquest Congressional - Provides access to Congressional bills and documents.
- Web of Knowledge - Indexes materials in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Coverage begins in 1998.
BloombergLaw, Lexis and Westlaw - These databases all have access to information on the topic of the Legal Profession.
= TMLL Restricted Access