Journal articles are an excellent way to start your research. They are narrow in focus and they contain references to other sources – both secondary and primary. Unless you have a citation to a particular article, it’s best to start with an index.
The primary indexes to law journal articles are HeinOnline, LegalTrac, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and the Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981. These indexes include references to many journals not included in the WestlawNext, and LexisAdvance databases. In some cases electronic access to the full text is also provided.
Heinonline is good source for PDF format/full text articles. Over 1500 journals have been scanned and posted – coverage usually starts with Volume One. The default search on Heinonline is by citation but this database is also searchable by author, title and text. Legal Trac and the Index to Legal Periodicals are indexes - good to search broad topics. They also provide full text of articles in a large percentage of cases. For additional help on finding articles, link to Using Legal Periodicals in the Thurgood Marshall Law Library Guide to Legal Research.
Most print journals are shelved in alphabetical order by journal title on Level 1 of the library. The library also has electronic access to a large number of journals via various subscription databases. While most general law reviews publish articles on the legal profession and legal ethics, there are a number that focus specifically on this topic. Listed below is a selection of these titles that you can access at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library. To find out if the library has access to a particular journal, use the search titles link on the TMLL web page. Or contact the liaison for this course.
Here is a list of electronic-version journals that might help you research Legal Profession and Legal Ethics issues:
- ABA Journal - free access
Coverage: 2004 present
- Cardozo Public Law, Policy, and Ethics Journal
Coverage: v. 1 - present (2003- ) HeinOnline
- Criminal Justice Ethics
Coverage: v. 16 - (1997 - present)
(Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library)
- Journal of Legal Ethics
Coverage: v. 1 - (1987 - ) HeinOnline
- International Journal of the Legal Profession
Coverage: V. 1 - (1994 - ) Taylor & Francis Journals Complete
- Journal of the Legal Profession
Coverage: V. 1 - (1976 - ) HeinOnline
- Journal of the Professional Lawyer
Coverage: V. 1 - (1993 - ) HeinOnline
- Notre Dame Journal of Law, Ethics, and Public Policy
Coverage: V. 1 - (1984 - ) HeinOnline
- Professional Lawyer
Coverage: V. 1 - (1989 - ) Heinonline
- Public Lawyer
Coverage: v. 1 - 1993- present Legal Trac (2007 - present)
- Women Lawyers' Journal
Coverage: v. 1 - (1911 - present) - Heinonline
= TMLL Restricted Access