This is the "Websites" page of the "Consumer Protection Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Consumer Protection Law   Tags: clinic, course page  

Resources related to debt collection, foreclosures, consumer fraud, car loans, transactions involving credit cards, and other areas, in both Maryland and federal jurisdictions.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/consumer_protection Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Government

It is possible to file a complaint against a company that violates state or federal law with numerous state agencies, federal agencies, or nonprofit  groups.

  • Federal Trade Commission
    This page from the Federal Trade Commission provides information on their collection of consumer complaints and provides a link to the complaint assistant for consumers who wish to file a complaint.


  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
    This page from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau allows consumers to submit a wide variety of complaints including complaints against mortgage companies, credit card companies, banks, credit reporting agencies, and money transfer companies.
  • econsumer.gov
    econsumer.gov is an initiative of the International Consumer Protection and Enforcement Network (ICPEN). ICPEN is a network of governmental organizations involved in the enforcement of fair trade practice laws and other consumer protection activities.
  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
    While this government agency is in its infancy, this web site provides a status report of its development, as well as reports and analysis as available. Their publication Building the CFPB reports on the evolution of the agency.

    Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Documents and Publications includes CFPB government documents such as press releases, transcripts, reports, notices & regulations. Available on Lexis.

  • Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)
    Federal commission charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from more than 15,000 types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction. Their Office of Legislative Affairs section includes links to laws, Congressional testimony and hearings.

  • FedinPrint
    The Federal Reserve publishes reports, surveys and working papers on the economy and consumer issues. This searchable database provides access to these publications by the Board of Governors and the 12 Federal Reserve Banks. A subject search for "consumer" will provide access to hundreds of publications, which can be further refined by title, author or additional key words.

  • Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
    Official website of the government body tasked with enforcing federal laws prohibiting anticompetitive, deceptive, and unfair business practices. Includes consumer information, advisory opinions, amicus briefs, and more.

  • State & Local Consumer Agencies

  • Survey of Consumer Finance is a triennial survey conducted by the Federal Reserve that provides a snapshot of consumer spending, wealth, assets, etc.

  • EDGAR SEC Filings - Form 10-K filings are submitted annually by American and Canadian companies trading on U.S. stock exchanges (other foreign companies file a Form 20-F). These reports contain descriptions of the business and its financial situation, major properties, competition, distribution, legal proceedings, and sometimes voluminous supplemental financial statements and legal documents. Balance sheets, income statements, management discussions, and financial footnotes may be at the end of the report or in a separate 10-K/A (amendment).  Late filings are numbered 10-K 405.  Form 10-Q filings are also required. You also can find information about recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors. Read more about EDGAR on the SEC's web guide Researching Public Companies: A Guide for Investors. Learn more with Zimmerman's Research Guide on SEC Filings.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip