Federal Statutes and Legislation
Lexis and Westlaw update their online code as new laws are passed with about a 2-month delay while Congress is in session. Updating the statute with Shepard's or KeyCite on the section is a good idea--be sure to look for pending legislation affecting the section.
- United States Code Annotated (USCA), by Thomson/West, is available on Westlaw.
- United States Code Service (USCS) by LexisNexis, is available on Lexis.
To learn more about the print versions of the USC go to the Guide to Using the United States Code.
The US Code is also Bloomberg Law , and annotations are being added in increasing number. It is updated within a month of newly enacted legislation.
Session Laws and Legislation
- Public and Private Laws (FDSys) (1995- )
- United States Statutes at Large - Every public law and private law enacted by Congress is published here in chronological order. It includes the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, the Constitution, amendments to the Constitution, treaties with Indians and foreign nations, and presidential proclamations.
- United States Statutes at Large (FDSys) , v. 65 (1951)-3 years ago.
- United States Statutes at Large (American Memory project of the Library of Congress) v. 1-18 (1789-1875)
- Congress.gov is a beta website of federal legislation and congressional activity. It is in the process of incorporating the legislative information available on Congress.gov and Thomas.gov, the Library of Congress's congressional information system. Compare the scope of coverage on THOMAS to Congress.gov at Coverage Dates for Legislative Information.
The Maryland General Assembly provides substantive legislative history materials on legislation from 1996-present. Fiscal and Policy Notes accompany legislation that include the purpose and background to a bill and what industries it would impact.
The Maryland Executive Branch has 19 departments and more than 3 dozen independent agencies. The Executive Branch organizational chart , the organizational charts for each independent agency, and information about each agency is available from the Maryland Manual Online.
Maryland.gov also provides links to departments, agencies, task forces and commissions.
A list of select agencies that may be helpful in consumer protection practice follows:
- Maryland Attorney General's Office "represents the State in all cases pending in the Appellate Courts of the State, and in the U.S. Supreme Court and lower Federal Courts." It also "gives legal opinions as to the construction or interpretation of the law as it affects various agencies of the State and gives legal opinions to local subdivisions on questions involving substantial statewide interest." The Maryland Manual Online provides the Attorney General organization chart.
- Comptroller of Maryland collects taxes, and provides tax forms for Individuals and Businesses. The Maryland Manual Online provides the Comptroller organization chart.
- State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT): is responsible for the valuation of personal and real property for state tax purposes. SDAT also requires businesses to file articles of incorporation (to form a corporation), articles of organization (to form a limited liability company), forms for registration as a foreign corporation doing business in Maryland, and related documents. In the latter role, SDAT maintains Maryland's business filings, including registered agent information; personal property assessment information for corporations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, limited partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, and professional corporations; and trade name registrations. The Maryland Manual online provides the SDAT organizational chart.
- Real Property Data Search to locate Maryland property ownership, assessment value, and property sales.
- Business Data Search to locate business information, UCC filings, trade names, Resident agents, business personal property assessment and view recently filed documents. Rate Stabilization Notices for electric companies. (2001- )