This is the "Case Law" page of the "Consumer Protection Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Consumer Protection Law   Tags: clinic, course page  

Resources related to debt collection, foreclosures, consumer fraud, car loans, transactions involving credit cards, and other areas, in both Maryland and federal jurisdictions.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/consumer_protection Print Guide RSS Updates

Case Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Case Law, Administrative Decisions and Orders

Several subscription online legal research services provide full text of state and federal cases, including cases relating to agricultural law, with coverage extending as far back in time as most researchers usually need.   Subscription online legal research services include Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, WestlawNext, and Fast Case. 

Free online legal research services like FindLaw, Justia, and Google Scholar also provide full text of select cases, but the coverage is not as extensive as the subscription services.  See also:

Another online legal research service worth mentioning is Maryland Decisions.  Maryland Decisions is a database containing the full text of opinions from Maryland circuit courts and Maryland's Office of Administrative Hearings.  However, this database is still very small.  See also: Maryland Appellate Court Opinions.

Free Resources: Free databases do not include cases dating back as far as the materials in Lexis and Westlaw databases. It is not recommended that you use free case law databases in your research.

Lexis: If you find one good case on Lexis, you may be able to find others by identifying the headnote that best describes the issue of interest to you, then clicking "More Like This Headnote," or by Shepardizing the case to find other cases that have cited it for the issue represented by that headnote.

Westlaw: If you find one good case on Westlaw, you may be able to find others by identifying the headnote that best describes the issue of interest to you, then clicking "Most Cited Cases" for that headnote. You could also try clicking "KeyCite Notes" to find other cases that have cited your good case for issue represented by that headnote.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip