This is the "Secondary Sources" page of the "Consumer Protection Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Consumer Protection Law   Tags: clinic, course page  

Resources related to debt collection, foreclosures, consumer fraud, car loans, transactions involving credit cards, and other areas, in both Maryland and federal jurisdictions.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/consumer_protection Print Guide RSS Updates

Secondary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Indexes and Full Text Journal Databases

The law library provides access to several databases with articles on consumer protection:

Business Source Premier

Consumer Financial Services

Academic Search Premier

HeinOnline

Index to Legal Periodicals

LegalTrac

 

Suggested Books


Maryland evidence : state and federal
Call Number: KFM1740 .M37

Trial handbook for Maryland lawyers
Call Number: KFM1738 .S7

Consumer law & protection: a practical approach for paralegals and the public
Call Number: KF 1609 B48

Unscrewed: the consumer's guide to getting what you paid for
Call Number: KF 1610 B79 2006

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a helpful place to start your research. It includes law journal articles, as well as dissertations, academic books, and other scholarly literature from broad areas of research and a variety of academic publishers, professional societies and university repositories; it also includes court opinions and patents.



 

Search the Catalog for Books and Articles

Use the online catalog to find consumer law treatises available in the Thurgood Marshall Law Library. For example, search on the subject "Consumer protection -- Law and legislation -- United States". Then, limit your search to non-governmental publishers of books.  Also, browse the stacks both on Level 2 and in the Reading Room under KF1610.

Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

[help]

Law Books and Articles
Law and Interdisciplinary Books and Articles
Search all of Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

 

Practice Materials

BNA Corporate Law Resource Center integrates expert guidance from Bloomberg BNA's renowned Corporate Practice Series, industry-leading news and commentary, relevant primary sources, and time-saving practice tools together in one platform.

Consumer Protection and the Law by Dee Pridgen is a treatise on advertising, sales practices, unfair trade practices, consumer fraud, and product warranties, among other areas of consumer protection. Available on Westlaw and in print in TMLL General Stacks at KF1609.P75 .

A.S. Pratt & Sons Consumer Credit and Truth-in-Lending Compliance Report is a monthly newsletter that provides the most recent court interpretations of federal laws and regulations related to consumer credit transactions. Available on Westlaw.

Consumer Financial Services on Intelliconnect CCH combines various publications from the following three practice guides.  (UMID and password required for remote access). Also available on Lexis.

  • Consumer Credit Guide - Charts, Explanations, federal & state laws & regulations, agency releases, court decisions, & other materials, is a practice guide organized by topics including consumer credit, including rights, remedies and transactional requirements
  • Consumer Product Safety Guide (CCH)
  • Mortgage Compliance Guide is a practice guide to state and federal mortgage laws. 

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act: Law, Explanation and Analysis (2010) -  Provides a section-by-section analysis of Dodd-Frank and its implementation and impact on previously existing legislation.  Commentary includes discussion of the relevant legislative history, including committee reports and floor remarks, detailed citations to new and amended law sections, and editorial comments and caution notes. Chapter 10 focuses on consumer financial protection. Available via Intelliconnect CCH (UMID and password required for remote access), and in TMLL General Stacks at KF974 .D63 2010.

Consumer Protection Law in a Nutshell - Explores the traditional areas in consumer protection and covers the state and federal laws dealing with electronic transactions. Topics include public and private actions to regulate consumer markets; methods of inducing consumer transaction; the consumer credit market; credit reports; identity theft; credit repair; and equal access to credit. Text also addresses disclosure terms in consumer transactions, regulating the cost of credit, and other terms in consumer transactions. Available in TMLL General Stacks at KF1610 .M37.

American Bar Association resources:

  • Carole A. Levitt and Mark E. Rosch, Mining the internet's public records for investigative research (2011). Available in TMLL at KF242.A1 L4785 2011.
  • Carole A. Levitt and Mark E. Rosch, Mining the Internet's publicly available resources for investigative research (2010). Available in TMLL at KF242.A1 L4785 2010.
  • Carole Levitt, Online Tools for Background Research 
  • Carole A. Levitt and Judy K. Davis, Internet legal research on a budget : free and low-cost resources for lawyers (2014). Available in TMLL at KF242.A1 L479 2014.
  • More resources: http://www.netforlawyers.com/products 

National Institute for Trial Advocacy (NITA) provides consumer protection sources in print, including:

  • Paul J. Zwier, Legal strategy (National Institute for Trial Advocacy, 2005). Available in TMLL at KF311 .Z85.
  • Paul J. Zwier & Anthony J. Bocchino, Fact investigation: a practical guide to interviewing, counseling, and case theory development (National Institute for Trial Advocacy, 2000). Available in TMLL at KF8915 .Z89.

National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) provides several resources on the NCLC website, through a law library subscription to manuals, and in print, including:

  • National Consumer Law Center Manuals: Companion Web Sites (UMID and password required) includes appendices and supplementary materials for the NCLC Consumer Law Manuals: Consumer Law Pleadings, Access to Utility Service, Arbitration, Auto Fraud, Banking, Bankruptcy, Class Actions, Collection Actions, Cost of Credit, Credit Discrimination, Fair Credit Reporting, Fair Debt Collection.
  • The Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices Manual, a survey of the Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices law in all 50 states.Topical coverage includes: automobile leases and financing; automobile selling techniques; service contracts; credit card abuses; deceptive credit practices; loan brokers; insurance practices; new federal and state telemarketing Law; FTC Holder Rule; attorney fees; federal preemption of UDAP claims; cancellation and rescission; punitive damages; failure to disclose; unfairness standards; federal and state RICO statutes; State Attorney General enforcement; and UDAP pleadings. Available online (above) and in the TMLL General Stacks at KF1609 .C37.
  • Consumer Protection in the States is a survey of Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices (UDAP) statutes in the 50 states, available on the NCLC website.
  • The Practice of Consumer Law: seeking economic justice by Robert J. Hobbs et al., a publication of the National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) and the National Association of Consumer Advocates, available in the TMLL General Stacks at KF1610 .H63.
  • NCLC Resources by Issue, from Arbitration to Unfair and Deceptive Acts and Practices.
Consumer Action Housing Help Foreclosure Prevention Guide (2011) has information for struggling homeowners at all stages in the foreclosure process. It lists a wide variety of government and private programs and websites where homeowners can learn if they are eligible for help in saving their homes.
 

Associations, Non-Profits & Educational Institutions

File complaints with:

  • Better Business Bureau (BBB)
    The BBB accepts complaints regarding disagreements between businesses and consumers. This page discusses what type of complaints they handle and how those complaints are handled. It provides a link to start a complaint.
  • National Consumer League's Fraud Center
    National Consumer League's Fraud Center, part of the National Consumer League, accepts complaints of internet fraud and telemarketing fraud.

These resources also provide "plain English" information on the Federal laws which protect consumers.

  • Consumer Action Handbook
    Visit this page to download a PDF of the Consumer Action Handbook. This resource is also available in Spanish.
  • Consumer Protection Publications from the Federal government
    Includes publications on Resolving Consumer Issues, Consumer Scams and Fraud, ID Theft, Smart Shopping, Warranties and Service Contracts, and Where to Complain.
  • General Consumer Protection Information from Consumer Action
    From their website: "Consumer Action creates award-winning free multilingual educational guides on a wide range of personal finance topics and other subjects of interest to consumers. Many publications are available in Chinese, Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese, as well as English."
  • Consumer information from the National Consumer Law Center
    The NCLC provides information on a wide range of consumer protection topics including banking, car sales, credit cards, foreclosures, student loans, consumer protection regulation and preemption, and unfair and deceptive acts and practices.
  • Nolo's Consumer Protection Section
    Nolo publishes plain English guides on a variety of legal topics. This page provides information on general consumer protection, consumer protection on the Internet, buy a pet, and common questions on consumer protection.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip