OrganizationsDatabasesIndexesDictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Abbreviations
This is the "Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Abbreviations" page of the "Researching International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching International Law   Tags: international law, public international law, treaties  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/researching_international_law Print Guide RSS Updates

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Abbreviations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dictionaries, Abbreviations & Citations

Listed below are a number of links to help the researcher find abbreviations, definitions and proper citation format.

Abbreviations.com –  A finder for abbreviations and acronyms.

Acronymfinder.com – A comprehensive listing of acronyms, abbreviations, and initialism.

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations – Covers both foreign language and English information – primarily from law reports and articles.

Dictionary.Law.Com – Searches a definition of a term or a definition that includes your term.

Dictionary of Law (7th ed.) – Defines major terms and concepts in the English
legal system.  Updated by Oxford University Press in 2013.  

Duhaime’s International Law Dictionary – A sub-listing of Duhaime’s comprehensive law dictionary.

Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citation, NYU School of Law, Journal of International Law and Politics – Includes country profiles as well as links to legislation, courts, and official publications.  There is also a section on international courts and organizations.

IATE – Inter-Active Terminology for Europe – Searches terms and words in a number of languages.

Law.com Dictionary – Search by term or definition.

Ultralingua.com – Multi-language dictionary.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias can be an excellent source of information.  They are a good starting point as they provide short, focused articles on a topic as well as lists of additional resources.


Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law, Cheltenham, UK; Northampton, MA: Edward Elgar Pub., 2006 [K48.E42 2006]

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford:  Oxford University Press, 2012 [KZ1160.M39 2012] – This title is available in print and also electronically. 

Parry & Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3d ed. [KZ1161.P37 2009] 

= TMLL Restricted Access

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip