OrganizationsDatabasesIndexesDictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Abbreviations
This is the "Case Law" page of the "Researching International Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching International Law   Tags: international law, public international law, treaties  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/researching_international_law Print Guide RSS Updates

Case Law Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google



 

Introduction

Although decisions of international courts and tribunals do not carry the authority of the opinions of common law country courts, they are still very important sources of international law. Listed below is a selection of links and call numbers that will help a researcher find this information.

 

Cases

  • Court of Justice  of the European Communities – 1952- The Supreme Court of the European Communities. 
    • Paper Sources: 
      • Common Market Law Reports (1962-2008)  KJE923.7.C66
      •  European Community Cases (1989-1997)  KJE923.7.E97
      •  European Court Reports (1993-  )  KJE923.7.R472
  • Court of First Instance of the European Communities – see General Court
  • European Court of Human Rights – 1959- 
  • General Court – Dec. 2009 – Created under the Treaty of Lisbon. This court replaces the Court of First Instance.  Decisions are appealable to the Court of Justice.
    • Paper Sources:
      • European  Court Reports (1993 -  )  KJE923.7.R472
      • European Court Reports:  Reports of European Community Staff Cases Before the Court of First Instance (1994-  ) KJE5932.A7.E93
      • European Union Law Reporter (1997-   )  KJE 925.5.C652
  • HeinOnline Foreign and International Law Resource Database – this database contains links to a number of international court decisions.
  • International Court of Justice (World Court) – 1946- This court is an agency of  the United Nations and its decisions are considered a final say as to what the law is in cases of international disputes.
    • Paper Sources:
      • Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders/International Court of Justice (1947-  )  JX1971.6.A244
    • Permanent Court of International Justice (1922-1946) – The precursor of the ICJ set up as part of the League of Nations.
      • Paper Sources:
        • Judgments, Orders and Advisory Opinions  JX1971.5.A6Ser.A/B
  • International Criminal Court 2004 -   Established under the Rome Statute.  The intent of the Court is to stop crimes against humanity.  It is a court of last resort.  See the Hague Justice Portal for documents of the court.
  • International Human Rights Law – Decisions on human rights from global and regional courts.  There is also selective coverage of the European Commission on Human Rights.
  • International Law in Domestic Courts – Provides decisions of domestic cases in international law from over 60 jurisdictions.
  • Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction – Includes decisions from the International Court of Justice, International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

= TMLL Restricted Access

Indexes and Outlines

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip