CALI is a resource restricted to University of Maryland faculty and students. You must be registered to access CALI lessons. If you need to register, please go the CALI Log In Information page.
International law is governed by treaties and conventions. These instruments create organizations and they manage them by setting out rules and regulations. Listed below is a selected list of treaty sources as well as links to charters and enabling documents. Finding aids are also included to help the researcher find additional resources.
Where to Find Treaties
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy – This collection includes a selection of treaties from medieval times to the present.
- Bilateral Treaties - (Austlii)
- Council of Europe – Treaties of the Council of Europe
- Eur-Lex Treaties – Treaties of the European Union.
- Human Rights Treaties and Other Instruments (University of Minnesota) – Extensive collection of treaties searchable by subject or key word.
- Internet Law Library: Treaties and International Law
- Library of Congress - Treaties
- United Nations Diplomatic Conferences - Digitized full text documents of selected diplomatic conferences
- United Nations Official DocumentSystem (ODS)
- United Nations Treaty Collection
- U. S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
= TMLL Restricted Access
Charters and Enabling Documents
- African [Banjul] Charter on Human and People's Rights
- Association of Southeast Asian Nations - ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration)
- Basic Documents Pertaining to Human Rights in the Inter-American System
- Council of Europe – Statute of the Council of Europe
- Group of 8 – Declaration of Rambouillet (Nov. 17, 1975)
- League of Nations - Covenant
- Organization of African Unity - Charter
- Organization of American States Inter-American Democratic Charter
- Pact of the League of Arab States
- Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court
- United Nations Charter
- Uruguay Round Agreements (WTO)
Indexes and Finding Aids
- Flare Index to Treaties (IALS database) – Index to information on over 2,000 treaties. Coverage begins in 1353. Lists paper sources and electronic links to the Internet. Indexes primarily multinational treaties.
- GlobaLex – (NYU Law School) – This is an extensive list of Internet links that will help the user find sources of information in international law.
- Library of Congress – International Organizations – A selected list of international organizations with links to web pages.
- List of International Organizations (Northwestern University) – This list contains links to web pages and documents.
- Treaties in Force from the U.S. Dept. of State, Office of the Legal Advisor, Treaty Affairs - Lists multilateral and bilateral treaties.
- United Nations Treaty Series – Cumulative Index
- Update: Introduction to Sources for Treaty Research (Mark Engsberg and Mary Beth Chappell) – A guide to sources of international law .
- World Treaty Index – Offers complete coverage for all known agreements in the 20th century. Search by country, organization, topic, keyword, date or citation.