Call Number Ranges
You may also find materials relevant to this topic by browsing the following call number ranges in the Law Library: KZ, JX, K3224-3252.
Search By Subject Headings
International Law is a wide ranging topic. Some subject headings that might help you in your searching are listed below:
War (International Law)
International Criminal Law
Journal articles are an excellent way to start your research. They are narrow in focus and they contain references to other sources – both secondary and primary. Unless you have a citation to a particular article, it’s best to start with an index.
The primary indexes to law journals are HeinOnline, LegalTrac, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books and Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981. These indexes include reference to many journals not indexed in Westlaw, Lexis Advance and BloombergLaw. In most cases they provide electronic access to the full-text of an article. LegalTrac and Index to Legal Periodicals are also available in print. Current Law Index [K33.C87] and the Index to Legal Periodicals [K9.N32] are shelved near the print journals on Level 1. HeinOnline is a great source for full text articles in PDF format. Almost 2000 journal titles have been scanned and posted. Coverage usually starts with volume 1. The default search in HeinOnline is by citation but this database is also searchable by author, title, and text. For additional help on finding articles, link to Using Legal Periodicals in the Thurgood Marshall Law Library Guide to Legal Research.
Most print journals are shelved on Level 1 of the library. They are arranged in alphabetical order by journal title. The library also has electronic access to a large number of journals via various subscription databases. While most general law review publish articles on International Law, there are a number that focus specifically on that topic. Listed below is a selection of titles to which the Thurgood Marshall Law Library can access electronically. To find out if the library has access to a particular journal, use the search titles link on the TMLL web page. Or contact the course librarian.
American Journal of Comparative Law
American Journal of International Law
Chicago Journal of International Law
European Journal of International Law
Georgetown Journal of International Law
Harvard International Law Journal
Human Rights Quarterly
Maryland Journal of International Law
Max Planck Yearbook of United Nations Law
Virginia Journal of International Law
Yale Journal of International Law
Books are also a good place to start your research. They can be focused on one aspect of international law or they can be a general introduction to the subject. Books also contain footnotes to other sources of information – both primary and secondary. Listed below is a short selection of titles that will help you get started.
International Law Frameworks, by David J. Bedereman. New York:
Foundation Press, 2001 [KZ3410.B43 2001]
International Law in Historical Perspective, by J.H.W. Verzijl. Leyden:
A.W. Sitjhoff, 1968- [JX3695.D8 V47]
International Law: Norms, Actors, Process: A Problem-Oriented Approach,
By Jeffrey L. Dunoff, Steven R. Ratner, David Wippman. 3d ed.
New York: Aspen Pub., c2010 [KZ3410.D86 2010]
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law , Oxford: Oxford University Pres, 2012 [KZ1160.M39 2012]
- available in both paper and electronic format.
Oppenheim’s International Law. 9th ed. Edited by Robert Jennings and Arthur Watts.
London: Longmans, 1992 - [JX3263.I6 1992]
Principles of Public International Law, by Ian Brownlie. 7th ed. Oxford; New York:
Oxford University Press, 2008 [ KZ3225.B76 A37 2008]
Public International Law in a Nutshell, by Thomas Buergenthal [and] Sean D. Murphy.
5th ed. St. Paul, MN: West Group, 2013 [KZ310.B84 2013]
Search Library Catalog for Books and Articles
You may find materials relevant to Public International Law by keyword searching our catalog below or browsing the KZ and JX classification sections on Level 4 of the Law Library. Include International in your search string in order to narrow down the results.
Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law