This is the "Secondary Sources" page of the "Baltimore City Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Baltimore City Research  

A basic guide for collecting information on Baltimore City legal resources.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/baltimore_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Secondary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar



Indexes and Full Text Journal Databases

All of the following databases are password access only . They available to members of the law school community and visitors to the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.

Academic Search Premier

HeinOnline

Index to Legal Periodicals

JStor

LegalTrac

      
     

    Google Books

    Search with the terms  Baltimore City and History or Economics or housing  to find Google books on this subject. 



     

    Magazines and Journals

    Magazine and journal articles are good starting points for conducting Baltimore CIty research.  Articles are more focused and are more apt to cover the narrow aspects of local information.  There are a number of magazines and journals that contain articles that will help the person doing research in Baltimore City topics.

    For legal topics such as landlord-tenant or ground rents, law reviews are a good starting point.  There are a number of law review titles published by law schools in Maryland.  But the two general titles listed here are particularly good:

    • Maryland Law Review - published by the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law.  Many of the articles deal with local topics. Available on HeinOnline and also on the Digital Commons link on the law school web page.
    • University of Baltimore Law Review - published by the University of Baltimore Law School. Many of the  articles have a local interest slant. This title is posted on the law school web page ( 2010 - present) and is also available via HeinOnline  .

    Depending on the focus of your research, sometimes it is better to start with a local magazine.  Baltimore Magazine concentrates on local news and happenings.  Its web page contains the current issue and an archive with some issues going back to 2003.  The Maryland Historical Magazine is another good resource.  Free access to all issues is available through the Maryland Historical Society web page: http://mdhs.mdsa.net/mhm/index.cfm .

    A trip to the Maryland Department of the Enoch Pratt Free Library is always worthwhile.  This great resource has access to many Baltimore and Maryland historical newspapers, and magazines. 

    Books

    Books can also help you start your research.  They can be narrowly focused or they can show an overall picture of a general topic.  Many of these titles also contain the text of basic legislation. Search the Discovery Service on the TMLL web page in order to find books on Baltimore City.  Unless you are searching for a specific title, search by subject.  Baltimore City - History, Civil Rights - Baltimore City or  Neighborhoods - Baltimore City are good examples of subjects you can use. The advanced search link on the right side of the Discovery section is the best way to start a search.  Google Books is also a good resource. The database Worldcat  offers access to books cataloged by an international list of libraries and it is an excellent way to create a bibliography.

    = TMLL Restricted Access

     

    Newspapers

    Baltimore newspapers are an excellent source of information for what's going on in the city.  They cover neighborhood news, legislative action in both City Council and the General Assembly, and development/redevelopment dealings. Listed below are some of the more important titles:

    = TMLL Restricted Access

     

    Directories

    The directories below enable a user to find contact information for services, statistics, departments and individual city employees.

     

    Research Guides

    Research guides produced by other groups are excellent sources of information when you are looking for additional information on your topic.   The Johns Hopkins Sheridan Libraries has produced Baltimore:  Research Resources . This guide provides links to area libraries, the Maryland Historical Society, the Baltimore City Archives and selected web sites.  The Baltimore City Research Guide  produced by the Enoch Pratt Free Library contains information and hisitories of Baltimore neighborhoods. And Research at the Baltimore City Archives is an excellent source of information for finding historical facts.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip