This is the "More about the donor" page of the "Restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence. " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence.   Tags: special collections  

This collection is the files of Special Reporter & Consultant Alan Hornstein, reflecting the review process and decision making of the Committee in restructuring the Maryland Rules of Evidence.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/restructured_md_rules_evidence Print Guide RSS Updates

More about the donor Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More about Alan Hornstein

   Alan Hornstein

   BA, 1965, MA, 1967, Long Island University
   JD, 1970, Rutgers University
   MA, 1986, St. John's College (Annapolis)






Before joining the faculty in 1972, Professor Hornstein served for two years as law clerk to Judge Frederick vP. Bryan, U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York.

Alan Hornstein has served as a visiting tutor at the Graduate Institute in Liberal Education at St. John's College, and as an eminent scholar holding the Paschal P. Vacca Chair in Liberal Arts at the University of Montevallo.

Professor Hornstein was a special reporter and special consultant to the Evidence Subcommittee of the Committee on Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

From 1987 to 1991 and again in 2001-2002, Professor Hornstein served as associate dean. He was acting dean in 1991-92. He is the author of Appellate Advocacy in a Nutshell, annual editions of the Maryland Evidence Courtroom Manual and many articles on a range of legal subjects. He has taught a wide variety of courses, specializing in Evidence and has led the seminar course on “The Idea of Law in Western Culture.” Hornstein has been an instructor in continuing judicial education programs under the auspices of the Maryland Judicial Institute and elsewhere.

Additional information: Tributes to Alan Hornstein. 63 Maryland Law Review 645 (2004). (via HeinOnline)

Books

Maryland Evidence Courtroom Manual (annual editions 2001-08) (with Levy & Weissenberger).

Appellate Advocacy In a Nutshell (1984; 2d ed. 1998).

Articles

On the Horns of an Evidentiary Dilemma: The Intersection of Federal Rules of Evidence, 806 and 608(b), 56 Arkansas Law Review 543 (2003). [Full Text]

The Unplanned Obsolescence of American Legal Education, 75 Temple Law Review 447 (2002) (with Rena Steinzor). [Full Text]

Building Community, Recognizing Dignity: Beyond the ADA, 25 Mental & Physical Disabilities Law Reporter 709 (2002) (with Karen Rothenberg). [Full Text]

A Match Made in Maryland: Howard Chasanow and the Law of Evidence, 60 Maryland Law Review 315 (2001) (with Nichole G. Mazade). [Full Text]

Greater Than the Sum of Its Parts: Integrating Trial Evidence & Advocacy, 7 Clinical Law Review 77 (2000) (with Jerome Deise). [Full Text]

The Trials of Howard Roark, 23 Legal Studies Forum 431 (1999). [Full Text]

Between Rock and a Hard Place: The Right to Testify and Impeachment by Prior Conviction, 42 Villanova Law Review 1 (1997), revised and reprinted as The Defendant’s Dilemma: An Evidentiary Analysis of Impeachment by Prior Conviction, 5 Criminal Practice Law Report 65 (1997) and as Between Rock and a Hard Place: A Constitutional Analysis of the Right to Testify and Impeachment by Prior Conviction, 5 Criminal Practice Law Report 73 (1997) [Full Text]

The New Maryland Rules of Evidence: Survey, Analysis and Critique, 54 Maryland Law Review 650 (1994). [Full Text]

From Oracle to Echo: The Development of Law & Justice in Vico's Nuova Scienza, 8 Law & History Review 129 (1990). From Oracle to Echo: The Development of Law & Justice in Vico's Nuova Scienza 8 Law & History Review 129 (1990). [Full Text]

Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don't: Hospitals' Liability for Physicians' Malpractice, 64 Nebraska Law Review 689 (1985) (with Diane M. Janulis), reprinted in Personal Injury Deskbook 1986 and in 35 Defense Law Journal 541 (1986).

State Court Power to Enjoin Federal Judicial Proceedings: Donovan v. City of Dallas Revisited, 60 Washington University Law Quarterly 1 (1982) (with P. Michael Nagle). [Full Text]

The Myth of Legal Reasoning, 40 Maryland Law Review 338 (1981). [Full Text]

Federalism, Judicial Power and the Arising Under Jurisdiction of the Federal Courts: A Hierarchical Analysis, 56 Indiana Law Journal 563 (1981). [Full Text]

Research Methodology in Temporal Perception, 79 Journal of Experimental Psychology 561 (March 1969) (with Rotter).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip