This is the "Microfiche/Microfilm" page of the "NAACP and William H. Hastie Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NAACP and William H. Hastie Collections   Tags: special collections  

An inventory of NAACP papers at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/NAACP_papers Print Guide RSS Updates

Microfiche/Microfilm Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Papers of the NAACP on Microfilm

The library also has a small microform collection of papers of the NAACP and the papers of prominent African American jurist and statesman William H. Hastie. The material is located on the first floor of the library building and is open to the public and law school community.   The microfilm NAACP records may also be searched by subject in the library catalog. An inventory of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's NAACP Collection is available online.  The following collections are in the microfiche set:

Part 3 -The Campaign for Educational Equality: Legal Department and Central Office Files, 1913-1965

Part 4 - The Voting Rights Campaign, 1916-1950

Part 4 - Supplement - Voting Rights, General Office Files, 1956 - 1965

Part 7A - The Anti-Lynching Campaign, Investigative Files, 1912-1955

Part 7B - The Anti-Lynching Campaign, Legislative and Publicity Files, 1916-1955

Part 8 - Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System, Legal Department and Central Office Records, 1910-1955

Part 12A - Selected Branch Files, 1913-1939, the South

Part 18 - Special Subjects, Series A: Legal Department Files, 1940-1955

Part 26A - Selected Branch Files, 1940-1955, the South

Part 27A - Selected Branch Files, 1956-1965, the South

The William H. Hastie Papers on Microfilm: this collection is in two parts

Part 1 - Judicial Activities

Part 2 - Civil Rights, Organizational and Private Activities

 

How Do I use the Microfilm/Microsoft Reader?

Microform cabinets and viewing stations are located on the 1st floor, right across from the elevators.  There are rows of cabinets, with labeled drawers right in front of the journals.  Microfilm/microfiche is not meant to leave the building. Please leave the items downstairs on the reader, or return them to the circulation desk so they can be re-shelved.

Follow the instructions below to use the Microfiche reader.

 

Step One: Turn on Machine and Load Film

The computer should be automatically logged on.   If it isn’t, restart the computer using the arrow button in bottom right corner of the desktop. 

Additionally, the scanner should be already turned on.  If the blue light on the front of the scanner isn’t lit, reach behind the back left corner of the unit and flip the switch to turn it on.

Load the fiche under the glass or the film on the rollers by following the directions posted on the machine.

Once you confirm that the scanner is turned on, click on the software icon on the desktop- called SL- Touch.  

 

Step Two: Select Film Type

A window will pop up and ask you to pick the type of film:

  • ROLL FILM- bill files are 16mm, the rest of our collection is 35mm.
  • FICHE- most of our collection is 270


     

If you pick a type of roll film, the “Roll Film Carrier” box will pop up to enable you to move through the film with a click of a button- either image by image or by fast forward or reverse.

If you pick the wrong type of film initially, you can click “Film Selection” and change it at any point.

 

Step Three: Auto Correct and Adjust Film

Clicking “Auto Corrections” will fix most problems with the clarity of the film.  

*hint* if you change the ZOOM, click Auto Correct again afterwards.

If you wish to just get a closer look, click MAGNIFIER and when you are done with the close up, click FIT TO WINDOW.

When you are ready to scan, click on the “Scan to File” icon.  This will scan the entire image that is within the box. 

If you only want to scan a certain part of the image, click on the “Cropping Mode” icon. You will need to “rope” off your desired section.  Then click “Scan to File.”

Click on “Horizontal Flip” to fix an image if it appears backwards.

Click on “Film Polarity” to correct any images from dark to light.

Click on “Rotate” and your image will rotate to the left or right.

Click on “Deskew” to fix any tilting in the image.

 

Step Four: Save the Images

Once you scan the images, they will be saved as PDFs in a folder on the desktop called “Scanned Images.” You can save them to a flash drive or send them in an email by opening the internet (yahoo/gmail) and attaching them.

You can also email the images via the software by first clicking to "View Mode."

Then click on the E-Mail icon.

This will open a new window.  All of the scanned images will be listed on the left.  You need to click on the image(s) that you wish to include in the email and then click ADD.  Fill in your email address and then click SEND.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip