Basic eBook Collections
Many ebooks are also marketed in collections, either by individual publishers or vendors, which allows for the full text searching of many titles in a database-type format. These can be accessed from the Databases tab on the Library's homepage or by collection name in the Database search.
- The United States Government Printing Office (U.S.G.P.O.) is the largest publisher in the world and many of its titles are now being offered digitally. The Library is a member of the Federal Depository System and regularly loads links to full text government documents. Currently the largest number of ebooks in the Library's holdings are government publications (27,000+). To search for these in the catalog use the following search strategy: GPO as keyword and limit format to E-Books (See Limiting Searches to eBooks Only for more details).
- All Federal Documents online can be searched in WorldCat TMLL (click the topic Government Documents to limit your search). You can use the same search techniques as in catalogUSMAI. Document collections are also available at a new GPO website FDSys that will serve as a central search point and archive for all online government documents going into the future.
Open Access eBook Projects
Many older books that are out of copyright are being offered as free ebooks by a number of organizations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to invest the time and money to convert print to digital formats. The following sites are considered to be of particular worth:
- Project Gutenberg and its International Affiliates & Partners: The oldest of the free ebook providers, now offering over 100,000 free titles.
- The Internet Archive: Ebooks & Texts: A digital library including documents as well as books.
- Open Library: The online catalog for the Internet Archive and other ebook sites, listing titles and linking to available editions.
- Google Books: Search by topic or title, then choose 'Free google ebooks' from the menu at left. Google Books often offers excerpts of books which you may want to review as sometimes the preview alone will contain the information you seek.
- Library of Congress: The LOC Digital collections include books, documents, photographs, newspapers, oral histories and more.
- Hathi Trust: A partnership of major research institutions and libraries. The catalog includes records for both free and restricted use texts. Often holds multiple editions of the same text.
- Scholars Portal Books: The Canadian equivalent to the Hathi Trust, from the Ontario Council of University Libraries.
- Harvard Digital Collections: A large and growing collection of books, documents, maps and other material from the Harvard libraries.
- National Academies Press: Publications from the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine and National Research Council. Over 4000 current titles available free as PDF files.
- DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books: The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague. It accepts only peer-reviewed books from publishers.