This is the "Administrative Law" page of the "UM Agriculture Law Education Initiative: MPowering the State" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UM Agriculture Law Education Initiative: MPowering the State  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/agriculture Print Guide RSS Updates

Administrative Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Federal Regulations

USDA Laws and Regulations
This website compiles all of the federal regulatory information from the USDA in one place.

Code of Federal Regulations: Title 7 Agriculture 
The federal compilation of administrative regulations currently in force, and is published annually, so must be updated to reflect regulations that are newly promulgated, revised, or repealed.

Federal Register
The chronological compilation of new and amended regulations, both proposed and final.

eCFR
A current unofficial electronic version of the C.F.R., eCFR is essentially an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments, so many researchers use the eCFR as an updating tool; the current update status is printed at the top of e-CFR pages. Using the eCFR makes it unnecessary to use the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA) to update regulations.  However, Boolean searching is not yet possible in this version – you must browse by C.F.R. title and part.

List of C.F.R. Sections Affected (LSA)
LSA is an updating tool to update the CFR, and can be used to track a regulation through the Federal Register.

 

Maryland Regulations

Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA). The MDA is the state's principal agency for implementing and enforcing agricultural laws and policies.  The MDA is also involved with environmental protection by regulating the use of pesticides, soil conservation practices, and agricultural land preservation. The web site provides access to information on agency programs; agency press releases, reports and other publications; agency regulations; and other valuable information.

Regulations are rules issued by administrative agencies that have the force law.  Maryland regulations are found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, COMAR.

  • COMAR, Title 15.  Contains regulations issued by the Maryland Department of Agriculture. 
 

Case Law, Administrative Decisions and Orders

Several subscription online legal research services provide full text of state and federal cases, including cases relating to agricultural law, with coverage extending as far back in time as most researchers usually need.   Subscription online legal research services include Bloomberg Law,  Lexis Advance, WestlawNext, and Fast Case.  Among these services,Lexis Advance and WestlawNext allow researchers to limit their searches to agricultural decisions and then further limit results by jurisdiction.  Although the full academic subscriptions to Lexis-Nexis and to WestlawNext are restricted to current students and faculty, a more limited version of Westlaw is available to on-site library visitors.

Free online legal research services like FindLaw, Justia, and Google Scholar also provide full text of select cases, but the coverage is not as extensive as the subscription services.  See also:

Another online legal research service worth mentioning is Maryland Decisions.  Maryland Decisions is a database containing the full text of opinions from Maryland circuit courts and Maryland's Office of Administrative Hearings.  However, this database is still very small.  See also:

Library, Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).  The OAH holds hearings for over 30 state agencies including the Maryland Department of Agriculture, the Maryland Department of the Environment, and the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. The OAH Library provides access to some of these hearings to visitors at the library.  For more information, visit the OAH library web page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip