- American Agricultural Law Association (AALA) - a national professional association addressing agricultural law issues.
- Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) - a national professional association of members in agricultural and broadly-related fields of applied economics, addressing the economics of agriculture, international and rural development, resources and the environment, food and consumer issues, and agribusiness.
- Farmers Legal Action Group - a nonprofit legal services organization helping family farmers and their communities with agricultural law issues.
Law Resource Centers
- Agriculture Law Education Initiative at University of Maryland
A collaboration between the University of Maryland Carey School of Law, the University of Maryland College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, and the University of Maryland Eastern Shore School of Agricultural and Natural Sciences.
- Center for Agricultural Law and Taxation – Iowa State University
Provides professional educational training and tracks relevant legal opinions and legislative developments in agricultural law and taxation for agriculture producers, businesses, and professionals.
- Drake Agricultural Law Center - Drake Law School
Offers courses, research initiatives, conferences, and a certification program in food and agricultural law in areas such as marketing and finance; biotechnology; international trade; soil and water conservation; land use and environmental issues; food safety; and federal farm programs. Targeted projects include Sustainable Farm Lease, New & Beginning Farmers, and Buy Fresh Buy Local. Drake agricultural law publications include the Drake Journal of Agricultural Law.
- Iowa State University’s Ag Decision Maker – Law and Taxation
Provides an electronic newsletter, fact sheets, computation spreadsheets, teaching activities and answer keys, and multi-media presentations on farm management, agricultural marketing, new business development, and renewable energy. Targets an audience of agricultural farmers, lenders, farm managers, instructors, and others.
- National Agricultural Law Center - National Ag Law Center’s Research Guide on Local Food Systems Law. See here for older publications.
"The National Agricultural Law Center is the only agricultural law research and information facility that is independent, national in scope, and directly connected to the national agricultural information network. The Center has expanded the scope of its coverage to include food law as it recognizes the expanding scope of agricultural law and its convergence with food law topics."
- National Conference of State Legislatures on Agriculture and Rural Development
Follows state legislative activities on Agriculture, Rural Communities, and Food Safety by tracking state legislation, Federal Issues in Agriculture, and state strategies to address current local issues in agriculture and rural development .
- The Ohio State University’s Agricultural and Resource Law Program
"Our mission is to conduct objective and timely research on agricultural and natural resource law and share our knowledge through informational resources, programming, and academic coursework... resources include newsletters, fact sheets, bulletins and policy briefs."
- Penn State University’s Agricultural Law Resource and Reference Center
A collaboration between Penn State Law and the Penn State College of Agricultural Science, the Center's site contains links to legislation and new items, as well as particualrly rich topical list of resources on current issues of agricultural law and policy.
- Sea Grant Legal Network
The National Sea Grant Law Center "coordinate(s) and enhance(s) Sea Grant's activities in legal scholarship and outreach related to coastal and ocean law issues.”
- University of Florida’s Agricultural Law Center
The Agricultural Law Center develops, implements, and maintains teaching and extension service activities on law topics of importance to Florida's agricultural future. Focuses on Florida law.
- University of Illinois’s farmdoc – Law and Taxation
Searchable site covers biotechnology; selling of agricultural products; acquiring land; water & environment; labor; and taxation, among other topics.
- USDA National Agricultural Law Library
One of four national libraries of the United States (located in Beltsville, Maryland and Washington, D.C. ) providing to the public a large collection on agricultural information, including a searchable digital collection. The NALL is the center of a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.