Retrieving Federal and State Dockets
There are several online resources for finding case records (complaints, responses, motions, orders, briefs, etc.) of federal court dockets.
- Maryland Judiciary Case Search: Provides public access to the case records of the Maryland District Court (traffic, criminal, and civil) and Maryland Circuit Court (criminal and civil). You can view the dockets, but you cannot view the actual filings.
- Bloomberg Law: Provides law students with free access to PDFs of federal court docket files pulled from PACER, as well as selected state dockets. Username and password are required. If you do not already have an account with Bloomberg Law, visit www.bloomberglaw.com/activate and enter your name, phone number, law school email address (it is critical that you use your “.edu” address), school, and current role. Shortly after submitting, you will receive an email containing your account information. The account is active immediately.
- PACER: Provided by the federal Judiciary, PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records) provides subscriber access to documents from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts. Library access only. PACER dockets are also on Bloomberg Law, Justia, and Westlaw. PACER tutorial here.
- Westlaw: In the Dockets database, WestlawNext provide access to federal dockets pulled from PACER and selected state court dockets. WestlawNext also provides access to the actual filings. There are several ways to find filings. First, you can find filings by retrieving a case and then viewing documents under the "Filings" tab. Second, you can search the Trial Court Documents database. It contains selected pleadings, motions, jury instructions, exhibits, and interrogatories, filed in state and federal courts. Finally, you can search the Briefs database. It contains selected briefs from the U.S. Supreme Court, Courts of Appeals, Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces, U.S. Tax Court, 51 state courts and the District of Columbia. Not all documents available in PDF. Username and password are required.