This page was created by Jose Blanco, class of 2005 and updated by Jenny Rensler.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017
- African Commission on Human Rights and Peoples’ Rights
- Center for Gender and Refugee Studies - Focuses on human rights issues involving women
- Gender Watch - 125,000 full-text articles on the development of gender roles in areas like sexuality, religion, societal roles, etc.
These articles include journals, magazines, newspapers, regional publications, government reports, NGO reports, newsletters, etc. NOTE: database access not provided by Maryland Carey Law, but may be accessible at other libraries in the University of Maryland system.
- Inter-American Commission of Women – provides a list of helpful publications as well as annual and biennial reports on the advancement of women rights
- Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights – Gender Equality Division - Provides links to legislation related to gender.
Several gender equality related documents and reports.
- OutRight International - documentation on sexual orientation and gender identity
- Raoul Wallenburg Institute Reports
- contains listings of books, articles, and reports from several prominent authors.
- Women’s Net
- Although this site aims to support South African women use internet resources for women’s social activism, the site contains a wide array of resources and tools on women’s human rights and other women related issues, including violence against women.
- HREA - resource center is being renovated, so there is temporary access to their archive
- International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims (IRCT)
- Torture Journal – the publication provides a multidisciplinary forum for the exchange or original research and systematic reviews among professionals concerned with the biomedical, psychological, and social interface of torture.
- The world’s largest library dedicated to the topic of torture, torture prevention, and torture victim rehabilitation.
- 40,000 items comprised of books, journals, articles, reports, picture materials and CD-ROMs.
- Research Tip: Use the Documentation Centre staff. The staff freely assists individuals in finding and obtaining desired materials.
- National Consortium of Torture Treatment Programs - Provides information on torture treatment centers in various cities and regions. Useful if an expert is sought.
- Resources for Torture Survivors, Refugees, and Asylum-Seekers – Among the many helpful resources for torture victims and asylum-seekers is a database of published literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).
- State Reports for the Convention Against Torture (CAT) - Reports submitted by participating parties to the convention which provide information on the implementation of the convention and any new developments that may have occurred.