Maryland Environmental Law Cases
Several subscription online legal research services provide full text of state and federal cases, including cases relating to environmentl law, with coverage extending as far back in time as most researchers usually need. Subscription online legal research services include Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, WestlawNext, and Fast Case. Among these services, both Lexis Advance and WestlawNext allow researchers to limit their searches to environmental law cases and then further limit results by jurisdiction.
Free online legal research services like FindLaw, Justia, and Google Scholar also provide full text of federal and state cases, but coverage does not extend as far back in time as the subscription services.
Specialized online environmental law research services like the Environmental Law Reporter also provides access to state and federal environmental law cases. This service requires a subscription, but it also offers editorial enhancements like customized environmental law subject headings that make it easier for researchers to find cases on a particular issue. However, like the free online legal research services, coverage does not extend as far back in time as larger services like Bloomberg Law, Lexis Advance, or WestlawNext.
Another online legal research service worth mentioning is Maryland Decisions. Maryland Decisions is a database containing the full text of opinions from Maryland circuit courts and Maryland's Office of Administrative Hearings. However, this database is still very small and does not yet contain any environmental law cases.