This is the "Country/Topical Resources" page of the "Researching Foreign Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching Foreign Law   Tags: foreign law  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/foreign_law Print Guide RSS Updates

Country/Topical Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Country/Regional Resources

Free Internet resources:

World Legal Information Institute has legal information from 123 countries. The site is maintained collaboratively by 14 legal research institutes around the world.  Click on "All Countries" on the left side and then select your jurisdiction; for many countries, there are legislation and case law databases. Also try the links appearing  under subject or legislation.

New York University's Hauser Global Law School Program provides a list of  country/regional Legal Information Institutes, as well as other links, including:
the Asian LII
the Australasian LII
the British & Irish LII
the Canadian LII
the Hong Kong LII 

Cornell Legal Research Institute: Law by Source:Global
A country by country list, organized by continent, of Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material.

Library of Congress Guide to Law Online has a listing of countries with links to primary legal materials.

EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex provides free access to European Union law and other documents considered to be public. The website is available in 24 official languages of the European Union; choose your preferred language from the language bar at the top of the homepage. The site includes nearly 3 million documents, incuding EU legislation and case law,  dating back to 1951

Subscription Resources:

China - ChinaLawInfo  (UM Law only)
A comprehensive database offering English-language versions of legal and commercial documents from China. The full-text database includes "Laws & Regulations," "Court Cases," "Legal News," and "Legal Information and Resources." To further supplement these resources, the Gazettes and Law Journals databases allow researchers to view the complete table of contents of the official gazettes of various government entities as well as a variety of Chinese legal journals.

CALI Lesson (UM Law only)  Supranational Organizations: the European Union
If you have not used CALI previously, set up your account by following the instructions on the TMLL site.

Lexis Advance (UM Law only) From Browse Sources select "International"  to find Laws by Country.

Westlaw (UM Law only) provides primary and/or secondary legal materials from a number of countries. To browse materials on Westlaw,select "International" from the main menu and browse by jurisdiction or by content type.  

 

Topical Resources

Free Internet Resources:

ECOLEX Gateway to Environmental Law
ECOLEX includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.

Foreign Trade Information System
The Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System centralizes information on trade policy in the Americas, and the site includesthe full texts of trade agreements in force for OAS Member States as well as information on national trade-related legislation.

Global Banking Database
A joint project of the World Bank Group and the International Monetary Fund; full texts of laws in English  on 35 topics.

Global Insolvency Law Database
The GILD is the World Bank's legal portal for insolvency and creditor rights matters and provides links to individual country and regional materials.

NATLEX (International Labour Organization)
A database of national labour, social security, and related human rights legislation maintained by the ILO's International Labour Standards Department. Contains abstracts of legislation and relevant citation information in only one of the three ILO official languages (English/French/Spanish), with some links  to the full text of laws.

Legislationline.org
A comprehensive database on legislation related to issues such as human trafficking, elections, and citizenship; designed as a drafting resource to assist OSCE participating States in bringing their legislation into line with relevant international human-rights standards.

WIPOLEX
This World Intellectual Property Organization database provides national laws and treaties on intellectual property of WIPO, WTO and UN Members. 

Women, Business, and the Law
Collects legal materials from more than 140 countries on accessing institutions, using property, getting a job, providing incentives to work, building credit, and going to court; recently added info about laws on domestic violence and sexual harassment.

World Bank Doing Business Law Library
A free online collection of business laws and regulations. 

Subscription resources:

Checkpoint - RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law  (UM Law only)
Contains foreign tax and business laws translated into English (listed under Primary Source Materials in Checkpoint.)

Lexis Advance (UM Law only) Doing Business Series
In LexisAdvance, go to Browse Sources > Search Sources > and type Doing Business.  The list will then populate with a number of country-specific treatises designed to give some general information to those contemplating doing business in a particular country.

There are also Web meta-sites devoted to topical collections of national and international legal materials. You can find these linked from research guides and by Google searching.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip