This is the "Secondary Sources" page of the "Federal Law Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Law Research Guide   Tags: federal  

The Federal Documents Collection at Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/federal_law_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Secondary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a helpful place to start your research. It includes law journal articles, as well as dissertations, academic books, and other scholarly literature from broad areas of research and a variety of academic publishers, professional societies and university repositories; it also includes court opinions and patents.



 

Indexes and Full Text Journal Databases

Try these other library library databases for finding articles on your topic.

Academic Search Premier

HeinOnline

Index to Legal Periodicals

LegalTrac

 

Off-Campus Access

If you are off-campus, click here for instructions on accessing the Law Library's electronic resources, including journals, databases, and e-books.

 

For substantive background on a federal legal research topic.

American Law Reports Federal (available on WestlawNext and in print at call number KF105 .A52) is a good place to begin research on a federal topic. A.L.R. Federal is a set of detailed articles on selected areas of the law, sometimes which are unsettled due to a circuit split in the courts. Articles include references to federal statutes and case law. Learn more about using A.L.R. Federal in the TMLL Guide to Legal Research.

Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure 3d (KF8840.C93)
Analysis with extensive annotations on jurisdiction, service, venue, pleadings, trial practice and appeals for civil and criminal actions. Arranged by subject. Includes a multi volume forms section and one volume subject index with tables. Updated by pocket parts and paperback supplements.

West's Federal Practice Manual (KF8840.V6)
Discussion of practice before federal administrative agencies and courts. Includes forms, tables, and an index volume. Updated by pocket parts and paperback supplements.

Charles Alan Wright et al., Federal Practice and Procedure (KF8816.W7)
Arranged by Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, Civil Procedure and Evidence. Additional volumes on jurisdiction and related matters. General index in separate paperback volumes republished every year. Main volumes updated by pocket parts and paperback supplements.

Moore's Federal Practice 3d (KF8820.A313M63) & Moore's Manual (KF8816.M63)
Discussion of federal practice arranged by rule numbers. Special volumes for Supreme Court practice. Includes several volumes of forms, index volume, and tables volume. Looseleaf format.

Weinstein's Federal Evidence 2d (KF8935.W4)
Commentary on the Federal Rules of Evidence with annotations to cases. Subject index with table of cases. Looseleaf format.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip