Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (on FDsys) provides Supreme Court annotations to the Constitution.
The Founders' Constitution is a major collection of the writings of the Founders, arranged under the relevant clauses of the Constitution, available through University of Chicago Press.
Declaration of Independence as a part of Primary Documents in American History at the Library of Congress
Statutes and Legislation
United States Code
The official United States Code is published every six years, with cummulative annual supplements.
The official current United States Code at http://uscode.house.gov/ is available from the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Code Annotated (USCA), by Thomson/West, is available on Westlaw.
United States Code Service (USCS) by LexisNexis, is available on Lexis.
To learn more about the print versions of the USC go to the Guide to Using the United States Code.
Lexis and Westlaw update their online code as new laws are passed with about a 2-month delay while Congress is in session. Updating the statute with Shepard's or KeyCite on the section is a good idea--be sure to look for pending legislation affecting the section.
The US Code is also Bloomberg Law , and annotations are being added in increasing number. It is updated within a month of newly enacted legislation.
The LLSDC Legislative Sourcebook provides information on Electronic Sources for U.S. Statutes and the U.S. Code.
- Access to Public Laws (U.S. National Archives and Records Administration) includes lists of Public Laws from current and previous Congressional sessions
- Public and Private Laws (FDSys) (1995- )
- United States Statutes at Large - Every public law and private law enacted by Congress is published here in chronological order. It includes the Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, the Constitution, amendments to the Constitution, treaties with Indians and foreign nations, and presidential proclamations.
- United States Statutes at Large (FDSys) , v. 65 (1951)-3 years ago.
- United States Statutes at Large (American Memory project of the Library of Congress) v. 1-18 (1789-1875)
Legislation and Legislative History
The most comprehensive database for federal legislative history documents are ProQuest Congressional and Proquest Legislative Insight. ProQuest Congressional provides index and abstract information for congressional materials and legislative histories from 1789–present. ProQuest Legislative Insight currently offers more than 18,000 professionally researched legislative histories from 1929-2013.
Congress.gov is a website of federal legislation and congressional activity from 1973 - present., and replaces THOMAS.gov, the Library of Congress's former congressional information system.
Sometimes others have compiled the federal legislative materials; to locate these compilations, search our catalog, or use the Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories by Nancy Johnson, which covers laws from the 1st Congress. Sources is available in print at Ref. KF42.2 .S68 and is in HeinOnline (requires UMID and password).
Older Congressional information, such as hearings and the debates of Congress in the Congressional Record are available in HeinOnline. Older House and Senate Congressional Reports may be found in print:
Congress and Congressional Materials
- Committee on Foreign Relations
- Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs
- Committee on the Judiciary
- Select Committee on Intelligence
- Catalog of Government Publications
- FDsys [GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) portal provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved by GPO as technology changes]
- Federal Depository Libraries - find a Depository Library near you
Congressional Research Service Reports, which are an excellent source of background information on legislation, are available from ProQuest Congressional. Select Congressional Research Service reports are also available via the Thurgood Marshall Law Library and the University of North Texas.