This is the "Additional Resources" page of the "Thurgood Marshall Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Thurgood Marshall Bibliography   Tags: special collections, thurgood marshall  

Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court, 1967-1991
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/marshall_bibliography Print Guide RSS Updates

Additional Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar



Databases for Journal Articles

 

Search for More Library Resources

Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

[help]

Law Books and Articles
Law and Interdisciplinary Books and Articles
Search all of Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

 

Links and Resources

Marshall's nomination [AUDIO] by President Johnson (NPR)

Transcript of oral history with Justice Marshall regarding his relationship with President Lyndon Johnson (The Johnson Presidential Library).

Justice Frankfurter's draft decree in the Brown case (Library of Congress).

The Civil Rights Era from the African-America Odyssey - includes Marshall's letter to the NAACP on "saving the race" (Library of Congress).

Finding aid for the papers of Thurgood Marshall (Library of Congress).

Proceedings in the Supreme Court of the United States in Memory of Justice Marshall (U.S. Supreme Court).

Working Toward Democracy: Thurgood Marshall and the Constitution of Kenya.

The prison jurisprudence of Justice Thurgood Marshall.

Justice Thurgood Marshall - A Dedicated Career; Symposium issue Arizona Law Review.

Justice for All: The Legacy of Thurgood Marshall. (U.S. International Information Programs)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

  1. Once connected to the database, type Thurgood Marshall into the basic search box
  2. Click the Search button and click or press the enter key.
  3. From there, you may browse the results or use the search facets to refine your search

ProQuest Congressional

    1. Once connected to the database, click on Advanced Search
    2. Select the Search by Subject from the drop-down box.
    3. At the search screen enter "Thurgood"
    4. Scroll down to the Search button and click or press the enter key.

Citations from the Congressional Record regarding Marshall's appointment to the Supreme Court (links to HeinOnline):

  • Congressional Record, June 13, 1967, p. 15726.
  • Congressional Record, June 15 1967, p. 15962. Comments of Congressman Ottinger (D - NY).
  • Congressional Record, June 15, 1967, pp. 15967- 15970. Comments of Congressman Rarick (D - LA.).
  • Congressional Record, June 27, 1967, pp. 17506-17507. Comments of Senator Morse (D - OR).
  • Congressional Record, August 21, 1967, p. 23376. Report of The Committee on the Judiciary.
  • Congressional Record, August 30, 1967, pp. 24583- 24657. Executive Session: Nomination of Thurgood Marshall to be Associate Justice of the US Supreme Court.
  • Congressional Record, August 30, 1967, pp. 24656 - 24657. Comments of Senator Mansfield (D - MT).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip