This is the "Journals and Databases" page of the "RA Orientation Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RA Orientation Guide   Tags: beginning research, research assistant  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/Summer_RA_Guide Print Guide RSS Updates

Journals and Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources Requiring Registration

Westlaw, LexisNexis and Bloomberg Law – You can still have access to your Westlaw, LexisNexis and Bloomberg Law accounts over the summer.  To make sure your Westlaw account is extended over the summer, please go to the Westlaw homepage.  If you have trouble accessing your account, email David Grahek at dgrahek@law.umaryland.edu.   If you do not already have an account with Bloomberg Law, visit www.bloomberglaw.com/activate and enter your name, phone number, law school email address (it is critical that you use your “.edu” address), school, and current role. Shortly after submitting, you will receive an email containing your account information. The account is active immediately.

Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI) - CALI provides hundreds of interactive, computer-based tutorials on the law, as well as legal practice, writing, and research, and has a growing collection of free e-casebooks.  It’s a great place to start if you are given a project in an unfamiliar area of law, or to help prepare for final exams. First-time users must register and create a password using the student authorization code, which you can get from the User Services Desk.

 

Terms and Connectors Searching

Terms and connectors (otherwise known as Boolean commands or search operators) can help you create better searches in Westlaw, Lexis, and other databases.  This presentation shows you why they are helpful and how to use them.

 

Databases for PDFs

PDF documents are available online from various web sites and electronic databases.  PDFs are not always available and you may need to try several sources. Find the Law Library’s electronic databases such as HeinOnline, ProQuest, and LLMC at: www.law.umaryland.edu/marshall > Databases



 1. Research Port: e-Journal Finder  > E-Journals Search Titles

Provides access to online journals from a variety of disciplines, including law, liberal arts, social sciences, and sciences.








2. Google Scholar and Google Books

PDFs of articles, and books in the public domain (pre 1923).  Often also provides digital scans of selected pages from books under copyright.





3. FDSys

Online repository of U.S. government documents.  Provides authenticated PDFs of public laws, the CFR, Federal Register, Congressional Record, bills, congressional reports and hearings, U.S.Code, etc.








4. HeinOnline 

PDFs of law journals, Federal Register, CFR, Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, presidential papers, U.S.C., treaties, yearbooks, federal agency materials, state session laws, etc.




5. Proquest Congressional 

PDFs of House and Senate Documents, Reports, Prints, & Hearings.  Also provides PDFs of CRS Reports, GAO Reports, and CBO Reports.







6.  Westlaw 

PDFs of court decisions in the West National Reporter System, party briefs, and selected legislative history documents






Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip