This is the "Administrative Law" page of the "Maryland Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maryland Research Guide   Tags: maryland  

This guide is intended to be used as a basic resource for Maryland legal research.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/maryland_research Print Guide RSS Updates

Administrative Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Administrative Research

Before attempting in-depth research, get an overview of the structure and sources of the area of law.  In Maryland, you should be aware of the following sources for administrative law:

 

Administrative Materials

Before attempting in-depth research, get an overview of the structure and sources of the area of law.  In Maryland, you should be aware of the following sources for administrative law:

Code of Maryland Regulations

The Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR), is the official compilation of Maryland agency regulations currently in force. COMAR is arranged by 35 titles that correspond with topical areas such as “Health and Mental Hygiene” or “Transportation.” Each title is divided into numbered subtitles; each subtitle into numbered chapters; and each chapter into numbered regulations, subsections and subparagraphs. A sample citation looks like this: Md. Code Regs. 09.12.01-2B(4)(b)(ii) (2013).

Current versions

Print

Print versions of COMAR are maintained by major law libraries. Although the set contains no index, a separate commercially published index is available as part of Michie’s Annotated Code of Maryland.

Online

A free electronic version of COMAR is available on the Division of State Documents web site. Regulations can be searched by keyword or phrase; by codification number; or by browsing the Table of Contents. This version is effective to date and is updated biweekly corresponding with the effective dates in the most current Maryland Register issue. Detailed information on how to use COMAR Online is available at the DSD site.

Lexis, Westlaw, and BloombergLaw also provide searchable versions of COMAR, which are generally up-to-date for finalized, but not proposed, new and amended regulations.

Retrospective versions

Westlaw provides historical coverage of COMAR back to 2002.

Maryland Register

The Maryland Register (MR), published every other week, serves as an updating supplement to COMAR. Every proposed and final regulation is published therein. Also published in the Maryland Register are numerous other items including agency hearing and meeting notices; new or amended court rules; courts of appeal hearing calendars; governor’s executive orders; attorney general opinions; and abstracts of some decisions from the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).

In addition, each issue of the Maryland Register contains tables for locating proposed or final changes to existing regulations. 

Print

Print versions of the Maryland Register are maintained by major law libraries.

Online

A free electronic version of the Maryland Register is available on the Division of State Documents web site. The site provides the most recent eight issues (three-four months) of the Register.

Lexis provides a searchable version of the Maryland Register.


Maryland Administrative Agencies 

The Web site Maryland.gov provides a list of links to Maryland Agency Web sites.

The Maryland Manual Online:A Guide to Maryland Government provides background information on Maryland Executive Department Agencies; Maryland Independent Agencies; Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, and Advisory Boards; and Interstate Agencies of which Maryland is a member.


Office of Administrative Hearings

The General Assembly created the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) in 1990 to centralize and professionalize the administrative hearing process of government agencies. Administrative Law Judges of the OAH conduct hearings for many agencies and programs. The OAH web site provides a more complete description of the Office's resources and procedures.  


Executive Orders

The Governor of Maryland has authority pursuant to Md. Code Ann., State Gov't §§ 3-410 to 3-406, to issue Executive Orders on topics including states of emergency, rules of conduct or procedure for state employees or governmental units, advisory committees and task forces, and the organization of the executive branch.

Executive orders are ususally first published in the Maryland Register, then codifed in Title 1, Subtitle 1 of COMAR. Rescinded orders are removed from COMAR, so the current published version of COMAR includes only Executive Orders currently in force.  


Attorney General Opinions

The Maryland Attorney General issues opinions to advise other state government entities on issues of Maryland law.  The opinions are available in print in some law libraries.   The opinions appear electonically in the biweekly Maryland Register, or back to 1993 on the Attorney General's Web site. AG opinions also appear on Lexis, Westlaw, and BloombergLaw. 

 

= TMLL Restricted Access

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip