Help Guides for Federal and State Regulations
Research guides created by librarians, government agencies or professional groups can help a researcher understand the mechanics of a resource.
- Research Guide to the Federal Regulations and the Code of Federal Regulations (LLSDC)
- Federal Register Tutorial
- About the Code of Federal Regulations
- Appealing an Administrative Decision (People's Law Library of Maryland)
- Maryland Resources In-Depth (Georgetown Law Library)
- TMLL Guide to Legal Research - Chapter 6: Administrative Law Research
Administrative regulations for Criminal Law and Procedure can be found in Title 28 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The regulations are available on a number of open access sites via the Internet as well as being posted on the major legal databases. Listed below is a selection of resources.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute (LII) – This resource contains links to updates published
in the Federal Register.
- eCFR – An up-to-date edition of the CFR.
- FdSys - Coverage begins with 1996.
- FindLaw - Searchable by keyword or section.
- HeinOnline – This database offers access to the current edition and also to a complete archive of the Code
of Federal Regulations starting with 1938.
The Code of Federal Regulations is published annually – with one quarter of the titles published every three months. To update a title or section of the CFR, use the List of Sections Affected and then go to the CFR Parts Affected From the Federal Register for the texts of the changes.
The legal subscription databases BloombergLaw, LexisAdvance and WestlawNext all offer access to the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register.
The Code of Maryland Agency Regulations (COMAR) is published in paper format [KFM 1235 1977.a22] and it is also available online. COMAR is updated bi-weekly by the Maryland Register [KFM1235.A2]. The Division of State Documents provides free access to both COMAR and the Maryland Register .
BloombergLaw, LexisAdvance and WestlawNext all provide access to the Maryland Administrative materials.
= TMLL Restricted Access