Court Rules, Forms and Practice MaterialsCase Law ResearchStatutory ResearchCounty and Local Law ResearchAdministrative Research
All About PricingLexis & Westlaw TipsLow Cost DatabasesFree Websites
This is the "Low Cost Databases" page of the "Successful Summer Strategies: Research in the Real World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Successful Summer Strategies: Research in the Real World   Tags: cost effective, practice  

Research in the real world starts here! Use this guide to orient yourself to the work and research environment.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/successful_summer_strategies Print Guide RSS Updates

Low Cost Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide Prepared By:

This guide was used with permission from Meredith Hale, content created and developed by  Sue Altmeyer and Laura Ray at the Cleveland Marshall Law Library.

BNA and CCH

These databases are not necessarily inexpensive, but usage is typically not billed back to clients.   BNA and CCH include many expertly prepared current awareness services, as well as treatises and primary sources, and are popular amongst practitioners.  Coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.

Fastcase

Fastcase is a federal and 50-state case law database.  It has natural language, as well as boolean search capabilities.  Authority Check citator provides list of cases citing your case and blurb of text from the citing cases, but no signals.  Unique features include Forecite, which identifies cases likely to be on point that do not include all your search terms, and Interactive Timeline, which shows the chronology of cases in your search results and which cases were cited most frequently.  Fastcase has low subscription costs and may be available at your firm.

      

    Versuslaw

    VersusLaw offers state and federal cases as well as and statutory law in a variety of low cost plans.  Free for law students and faculty, register here.

        

      Comparison of Low Cost Alternatives to LexisNexis & Westlaw

      Contents

       Database Unannotated
      Statutes
      Cases
      w/o
      Headnotes
      Unannotated Regulations “Shepard’s –Like Feature” Other
      Bloomberg Law Yes

      Yes 

      Federal - 1789 - present for Supreme and District, 1891 for Circuit.

      Yes Yes Dockets, Forms, Practice Books, News, Company Info, Legislation/reg tracking
      People's Law Library of Maryland Links to the Maryland State Legislature, which has current code

      Links to the Maryland Judiciary's online case information page.

      Links to COMAR online No Step-by-step instructions for pro se litigants in various areas of the law
      Fastcase Internet links for 8 states Coverage Mostly Internet Links Yes ---
      Versuslaw - See help, Content/
      Features
      Fed if pay more, no state Fed if pay more, no State Yes ----
      Loislaw Yes Yes Yes Yes

      Treatises, Forms, Public Records

      (Depends on Plan)

      Searching

       Database Boolean Natural Language Fields Search databases together Saves Searches,
      Alert Searches

       

      Folders

      Bloomberg Law Yes - s/, p/ No Advanced Searches on the right side All-in-One Search Box

      Saves Searches and

      Alert Searches

      Yes
      People's Law Library of Maryland NA NA NA All-in-One Search Box No No
      Fastcase Yes - w/n Yes Date, cite look-up only Yes Saves last 10 searches No
      Versuslaw Yes - w/n Yes default connector is ADJ 4 fields, see help For additional fee No No
      Loislaw Yes - near2 No Yes Yes

      Saves Searches and

      Alert Searches

      All-in-One search box
          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip