This is the "Home" page of the "Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights   Tags: special collections  

the Library has worked since 2001 to create a complete electronic record of United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Library's collection and available on the USCCR Web site.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/commission_civil_rights Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: 410-706-6502
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

Since its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation. Although the fortunes of the Commission have ebbed and flowed with changes in presidential administrations, the Commission has continued to be a vital part of the effort to build an America that is truly equal. By providing access to the historical record of this important federal agency, the Thurgood Marshall Law Library will offer scholars an opportunity to examine the efforts of the Commission more closely.

A partnership of the United States Government Printing Office, The United States Commission on Civil Rights and the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.

Locate Publications

TITLE | DATE | SUBJECT | SUDOC NUMBERS | MAP | RECENT ADDITIONS

Navigation Tips

  1. Access is provided by title, subject, date of publication and Superintendent of Documents number.
  2. Thumbnail navigation for all documents is provided.
  3. Documents over 50 pages in length are also provided with bookmark navigation.
  4. Most documents over 50 pages in length are accompanied by searchable text, either embedded in the original PDF or as a link to non-printable "OCRd" PDF.
  5. Documents may also be located from the University of Maryland School of Law's Internet site via the embedded search tool or through the site map.
  6. Searchable HTML files, when available, are presented with text formatting preserved whenever possible. Internal images are not included.
  7. Each document's MARC record in the Library's online catalog has been enhanced to include a link to the appropriate PDF.

 

About the Project

In conjunction with the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's strategic plan to enhance its civil rights collection in support of the School of Law's teaching and research mission, the Library has worked since 2001 to create a complete electronic record of United States Commission on Civil Rights publications held in the Library's collection and available on the USCCR Web site. The publications are made available over the Internet as page image presentations in PDF format. Each item is linked from the appropriate bibliographic record in the Catalog. Publications are also searchable by keyword and accessible by date, title and SuDoc number.

Document conversion for this project is supported in part through the Ryan Easley Memorial Fund.

In 2005 the Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights partnered with the Library of Congress' BEAT project to provide access to USCCR publications via the Web Access to Works in the Public Domain initiative.

Read more about the origins of the project in the March 2004 AALL Spectrum.

 

Related Research Guides

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip