This is the "Home" page of the "Brune Room" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Brune Room   Tags: special collections  

The Thurgood Marshall Law Library's collection of rare books.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/brune_room Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Profile Image
Francis King Carey
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: (410) 706-7214
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

Named for Judge Frederick W. Brune (1894-1972), the Brune Room houses the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's collection of rare legal books from all eras of American history. The Brune Room's primary resource, the Donaldson Collection, consists of legal literature from the colonial period through the 19th century. The Donaldson Collection was donated by Judge Brune to honor his uncle and mentor John J. Donaldson. 

Important works in the rare book collection include copies of Lilly's Practical Register (1710); Brownlow's Declarations and Pleadings (1653); A Treatise of Tenures (1794); Law of the Seas (1818); and Hall's Office and Authority of a Justice of the Peace in the State of Maryland (1815).

The rare book collection also holds a complete collection of early Maryland statutes and a full set of The Archives of Maryland; material on the history of the University of Maryland School of Law including course catalogs, yearbooks, grade books from the 19th century; a near complete run of the Raven, and commencement addresses; and a collection of material written by the Law School's founder David Hoffman.

Through additional gifts and the transfer of pre-1830 American imprints from the general collection, the Library's special collections has grown to include over one thousand items including a growing collection of digital and manuscript material devoted to African American practitioners.

The unique resources of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library may be found by searching the Catalog. The Special Collections of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library are open to students, faculty and staff of the University System of Maryland and Affiliated Institutions (USMAI), and to members of the public for in-house use only. Access to the collections [insert document here regarding Patron Access] is by appointment only, please contact Special Collections at the Library to make an appointment.  Access to certain collections may be restricted based on condition, availability and/or prior donor arrangements.  There is no charge to use the collections, however there may be a fee for copying or other services.

Photocopying of non-fragile material is available. Tax documents and individual financial statements may not be photocopied.  Readers are permitted to take their own digital pictures for study purposes with a small, handheld camera, iPad, or cell phone.  Permission to reproduce or quote from the collection generally, including images intended for publication in any format, may be requested in writing from the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland School of Law, Special Collections, 501 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201.

 

Related Research Guides

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip