This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Animal Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Animal Law  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/animal_law Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Law Library Research Department

Profile Image
Law Library Research Department
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
User Services Desk
Thurgood Marshall Law Library
410-706-6502
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Introduction

This research guides lists and describes selected resources for researching federal and state animal laws. Animal laws include statutes, regulations, and judicial decisions that address the use, control, and protection of animals.  Resources covered include books, journals, electronic databases, and web sites.

 

Getting Started

There are several resources for researching animal laws. However, three good resources for getting started are the legal encyclopedia, American Jurisprudence 2d, Animal Law in a Nutshell, and An Introduction to Animals and the Law

American Jurisprudence 2d.   This legal encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of American substantive and procedural law.  This multivolume is arranged alphabetically by topic. Some of the topics providing coverage of animal laws are Animals and Fish, Game, and Wildlife Conservation.

Animal Law in a Nutshell  by Pamela D. Frasch et al.  This concise book provides an overview of state and federal animal laws.  Topics covered include animal anti-cruelty (animal abuse) laws, industrial and agricultural uses of animals, remedies for harms inflicted on animals, hunting, fishing, and entertainment animals.

An Introduction to Animals and the Law  by Joan E. Schaffner. This book covers animal laws and analyzes them with respect to the protection of animals' interests.

 

Search for More Library Resources

You may find materials relevant to this topic by keyword searching our catalog below or browsing the following call number ranges in the Law Library: K3615-3622, KB3123-3123.5, KBP3123-3123.5, or KF390.5 A5.  You can also click on one of the catalog's subject headings:

Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

[help]

Law Books and Articles
Law and Interdisciplinary Books and Articles
Search all of Discovery Service @ UM Carey Law

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip