Court Rules, Forms and Practice MaterialsCase Law ResearchStatutory ResearchCounty and Local Law ResearchAdministrative Research
All About PricingLexis & Westlaw TipsLow Cost DatabasesFree Websites
This is the "County and Local Law Research" page of the "Successful Summer Strategies: Research in the Real World" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Successful Summer Strategies: Research in the Real World   Tags: cost effective, practice  

Research in the real world starts here! Use this guide to orient yourself to the work and research environment.
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2017 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/successful_summer_strategies Print Guide RSS Updates

County and Local Law Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internet Links

  • TMLL Guide Maryland Local Law
    A detailed discussion of Maryland county and city government and materials can be found in Chapter 9 of the TMLL Guide to Legal Research.
  • Maryland Research Guide
  • Local Maryland Codes
    Researchers should verify currentness with the website publisher and/or the original institutional author of the material.
  • Mapping Maryland
    This site provides links to Maryland county Web pages. These vary considerably in type and depth of available information but are worth checking out.
  • Municode
    Click on "Browse the Library" to browse for free. Multiple code searching is available, but only for subscribers ($200 annual fee).
  • General Code
    Codes from 24 states. Choose the state, then select a municipality.
  • American Legal Publishing
    This site offers several search options: (1) search all the codes in their library, which covers 32 states; (2) search all the codes within a state; and (3) select a city and search/browse its code.
  • State and Local Government on the Net
    This site contains links to county and local home pages, some of which provide text of local codes.
  • eCode360
    Provides access to nearly 2,000 American municipal codes as well as searching across multiple codes.
 

General Tips

Local government law may consist of either county or city materials. The law for such entities may consist of:

  • A charter, which is the basic document setting for the entity's powers to legislate
  • Ordinances, which are legislative enactments passed by a city council or board of county commissioners or supervisors
  • Codes, which are codifications (subject arrangements) of ordinances currently in force.

"Public local laws" are laws passed by the Maryland Assembly that affect a particular county or city, or more than one county or city. Public local laws are published in the Annotated Code of Maryland.

There is great variation among local jurisdictions in the forms of publication and updating mechanisms for these materials. It will often be necessary to check with a local law school library if available, a local court library, or with a county or city clerk's office, about how to research the law for a particular local government.

 

Sources of City and County Information in Maryland

Baltimore City

  • Print versions of Baltimore City materials are available at academic law libraries, the bar library, and at some firm libraries.
  • Links to Baltimore City materials available on the Internet appear on the TMLL Home Page under "Databases - Choose a Subject" - Maryland (State and Local). Then choose Baltimore City Materials.  Lexis and Westlaw do not provide coverage of Baltimore City materials.
  • A detailed description of Baltimore City materials appears in Chapter 9 of the TMLL Research Guide. Scroll down the TOC for this chapter to "Baltimore City Materials."
  • The Specialized Research Guide - Maryland Law contains a list of Baltimore Sites links.
  • The Baltimore City Council web page has a link to the Legislative Information Center . The Legislative Information Center link provides e-access to the Charter, Code of Public Local Laws, Baltimore City Code, City Council Rules and the Council Agenda. The Legislative Activity link in this section enables the searcher to access copies of legislation and bill tracking information.

Other Cities

For Maryland city materials, consult the TMLL Home Page under "Databases - Choose a Subject"- Maryland (State and Local) and under "Specialized Research Guide"-Maryland Law. The County Publications Checklist 2005 (LLAM) also contains links to Maryland city materials at the end of each county section.

The Law Library also subscribes to eCode360. eCode360 provides access to access to nearly 2,000 American municipal codes, including several codes for Maryland counties and cities.  Affiilated users have access to advanced features such as searching across multiple codes.  

It will be unusual for a Maryland employer to have extensive print collections of county or city materials for non-Maryland jurisdictions. Further, Lexis and Westlaw do not currently provide coverage of such materials.  Thus, the Internet will be your best source in the event you are called upon to locate such materials. Some useful sites are included in this guide.

Availability of county materials for Maryland counties:

  • Various employers' libraries, or a local bar or court library, may have print versions of county codes.  The Marshall Law Library owns print versions of selected county codes, which are classified in the Maryland collection (KFM1799...) (level 2).  The updating schedules on these vary widely, so you may need to check with a librarian or with the appropriate county office to ascertain the currency of the materials you find.
  • The Maryland.gov Mapping Maryland site provides links to Maryland county Web pages. These vary considerably in type and depth of available information but are worth checking out.
  • The County Publications Checklist 2005 (LLAM) contains links to electronic versions of the Maryland county codes.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip