This is the "Home" page of the "NAACP and William H. Hastie Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NAACP and William H. Hastie Collections   Tags: special collections  

An inventory of microfilm collections of select NAACP papers. The NAACP papers may also be searched by subject in the library's online catalog.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2014 URL: http://law.umaryland.libguides.com/NAACP_papers Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Special Collections

Thurgood Marshall Law Library
Contact Info
500 W. Baltimore Street,
Baltimore, MD 21201-1786
PHONE: 410-706-6502
FAX: (410) 706-4045
Send Email
 

Chat

Available Mon-Fri 9AM - 6PM to UM Law Community Only.  

If you do not receive an immediate response, please contact the User Services Desk.

 

Collection Information

The library's microform collection of papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) and papers of prominent African American jurist and statesman William H. Hastie contains both microfilm (35 mm and 16 mm rolls) and microfiche materials. The material is located on the first floor of the library building and is open to the public and law school community.  

The NAACP records may also be searched by subject in the library catalog. In addition, the Law Library has a small collection of original NAACP reports, documents and publications donated by Professor Larry Gibson. An inventory of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's NAACP Collection is available online here

The William H. Hastie collection is in two parts.  Part one details judicial activities, while part two discusses civil rights, organizational and private activities.

 

Papers of the NAACP - Digitized

Proquest has digitized the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People archives. This collection is nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal and branch offices throughout the country. This digitized version is fully searchable.

Thurgood Marshall Law Library's digital subscription to the NAACP Papers Collection include:

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns - Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces, Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses and Legal Department Files

   Part 03: The Campaign for Educational Equality 1913-1965

   Part 04: The Voting Rights Campaign 1916-1950

      Supplement: General Office Files 1956-1965

   Part 05: The Campaign against Residential Segregation 1914-1955

      Supplement:  General Office Files 1956-1965

   Part 06: The Scottsboro Case, 1931-1950

   Part 07: The Anti-Lynching Campaign, 1912-1955

   Part 08: Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System, 1910-1955

   Part 09: Discrimination in the U.S. Armed Forces 1918-1955

   Part 10: Peonage, Labor, and the New Deal, 1913-1939

   Part 13: The NAACP and Labor 1940-1955

   Part 15: Segregation and Discrimination: Complaints and Responses, 1940-55

   Part 20: White Resistance and Reprisals, 1956-1965

   Part 22: Legal Department Administrative Files, 1956-1965

   Part 23: Legal Department Case Files, 1956-1965

      Supplement: 1960-1972, Series A: The South

      Supplement: 1960-1972, Series B: The Northeast

      Supplement: 1960-1972, Series C: The Midwest

Access this material through the library's database, NAACP Papers.

Affiliated users and visitors may access this database while on site at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.

 

Papers of the NAACP on Microfilm

An inventory of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library's NAACP Collection is available online.  The following collections are in the microfiche set:

Part 3 -
The Campaign for Educational Equality: Legal Department and Central Office Files, 1913-1965

Part 4 - The Voting Rights Campaign, 1916-1950

Part 4 - Supplement - Voting Rights, General Office Files, 1956 - 1965

Part 7A - The Anti-Lynching Campaign, Investigative Files, 1912-1955

Part 7B - The Anti-Lynching Campaign, Legislative and Publicity Files, 1916-1955

Part 8 - Discrimination in the Criminal Justice System, Legal Department and Central Office Records, 1910-1955

Part 12A - Selected Branch Files, 1913-1939, the South

Part 18 - Special Subjects, Series A: Legal Department Files, 1940-1955

Part 26A - Selected Branch Files, 1940-1955, the South

Part 27A - Selected Branch Files, 1956-1965, the South

 

Send Us Your Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip